Austrocel now supplies advanced bio-ethanol

After a construction period of one and a half years, the new bio-ethanol plant of AustroCel Hallein GmbH goes into operation. Since the beginning of the year, bio-ethanol has been produced in Hallein, a sustainable fuel that replaces fossil fuels and thus saves CO2.

Train with wooden mountain
(c) AustroCel

With the first successful trial delivery of advanced bio-ethanol, OMV and AustroCel Hallein GmbH are launching their long-term cooperation. With an annual capacity of up to 35 million litres, the Hallein bio-ethanol plant is the world's largest wood-based bio-ethanol plant. In the first year, AustroCel will already supply OMV with over 1.5 million litres of second-generation bio-ethanol per month - an important contribution to climate protection. "Austria's first plant for the production of second-generation bio-ethanol is now running in Hallein and we are launching our forward-looking cooperation with OMV. With our advanced bio-fuel we are using our resources responsibly and helping to save fossil fuels. We will continue our long-term strategy of 'Green AustroCel' and combine sustainability and economic success", explains Jörg Harbring, CEO AustroCel Hallein.

Bio-ethanol from wood
Bio-ethanol from Hallein is produced exclusively on the basis of cellulosic residues and is considered to be particularly environmentally friendly, as no feed or food is used. The bio-ethanol is obtained from wood sugar, which is a by-product of cellulose production and is then fermented and distilled. With this sustainable basis, AustroCel Hallein's bio-ethanol belongs to the category of "advanced biofuels". This means that it can be added to petrol fuels in the future. By replacing fossil fuel, around 45,000 tonnes of CO2 will be saved per year. The product will thus contribute to reducing the CO2 intensity of OMV's product portfolio and support OMV's 2025 sustainability goals. Thomas Gangl, OMV Board Member responsible for Refining & Petrochemical Operations: "We are pleased to have found a reliable partner in AustroCel and are proud of the start of our cooperation, which will further secure the supply of biofuels in Austria. By using an advanced second generationbiofuel ,OMV can make a valuable contribution to help meet international climate targets. “

"With our advanced bio-fuel, we are using our resources responsibly and helping to save fossil fuels. We will continue our long-term strategy of 'Green AustroCel' and combine sustainability and economic success."

Jörg Harbring, CEO AustroCel Hallein

AustroCel GmbH has invested around 42 million euros in the new bio-ethanol plant at its premises in Hallein and created jobs for an additional 10 employees. "Despite the challenges of the current situation, we were able to meet our time and cost schedule with the highest safety standards throughout the implementation period of the project. Our team and partners have done a great job. The plant is ready and has successfully started trial operation," explains Franz Dieterich, Head of Project Management at AustroCel.

The plant has been fully operational since January 2021 and regular deliveries of bio-ethanol are being made to OMV.

Contact person:

Ingrid Einspieler
ingrid.einspieler@austrocel.com

Learn more about...

Relevant articles

home office pexels ekaterina bolovtsova
Social Policy

Home office law passed

Especially in these times, the topic of home office has come very much to the fore and has gained enormous importance for the working world. Now a home office law has been passed.

MORE "

Gumpendorfer Strasse 6
1060 Vienna

Phone: +43 (0)1 - 588 86 - 0
Fax: +43 (0)1 - 588 86 - 222
E-mail: austropapier@austropapier.at

NEWSLETTER
REGISTRATION

THEY FOLLOW US

MEMBERS AREA

LOGIN STATISTICS INPUT

Copyright © 2021 Austropapier - Association of the Austrian Paper Industry
together with the Austrian Association of the Paper Industry

Austrocel liefert ab jetzt fortschrittliches Bio-Ethanol

Nach eineinhalb Jahren Bauzeit, geht die neue Bio-Ethanol-Anlage der AustroCel Hallein GmbH in Betrieb. Seit Anfang des Jahres wird nun in Hallein Bio-Ethanol produziert, ein nachhaltiger Treibstoff, der fossile Brennstoffe ersetzt und so CO2 einspart.

Zug mit Holzberg
(c) AustroCel

Mit der ersten erfolgreichen Probelieferung von fortschrittlichem Bio-Ethanol starten die OMV und die AustroCel Hallein GmbH ihre langfristige Kooperation. Mit einer jährlichen Kapazität von bis zu 35 Millionen Liter ist die Halleiner Bio-Ethanol-Anlage die weltweit größte Bio-Ethanol-Anlage auf Holzbasis. Im ersten Jahr wird AustroCel monatlich bereits über 1,5 Millionen Liter Bio-Ethanol der zweiten Generation an die OMV liefern – Ein wichtiger Beitrag für den Klimaschutz. „In Hallein läuft nun Österreichs erste Anlage zur Herstellung von Bio-Ethanol der zweiten Generation und wir starten unsere zukunftsweisende Kooperation mit der OMV. Mit unserem fortschrittlichen Bio-Kraftstoff gehen wir verantwortungsvoll mit unseren Ressourcen um und helfen, fossile Brennstoffe zu sparen. Wir werden unsere langfristige Strategie der ‚Green AustroCel‘ weiterführen und Nachhaltigkeit und wirtschaftlichen Erfolg verbinden“, erklärt Jörg Harbring, CEO AustroCel Hallein.

Bio-Ethanol aus Holz
Bio-Ethanol aus Hallein wird ausschließlich auf Basis von zellulosischen Reststoffen hergestellt und gilt als besonders umweltfreundlich, da keine Futter- oder Nahrungsmittel verwendet werden. Das Bio-Ethanol wird aus Holzzucker gewonnen, der bei der Zellstoffherstellung anfällt und dann fermentiert und destilliert wird. Mit dieser nachhaltigen Basis zählt das Bio-Ethanol der AustroCel Hallein zur Kategorie der „fortschrittlichen Biokraftstoffe“. So kann es in Zukunft Benzinkraftstoffen beigemengt werden. Durch den Ersatz von fossilem Brennstoff werden pro Jahr rund 45.000 Tonnen CO2 eingespart. Das Produkt wird so einen Beitrag zur Reduktion der CO2-Intensität des OMV Produktportfolios liefern und die OMV Nachhaltigkeitsziele 2025 unterstützen. Thomas Gangl, OMV Vorstandsmitglied verantwortlich für den Bereich Refining & Petrochemical Operations: „Wir freuen uns mit AustroCel einen zuverlässigen Partner gefunden zu haben und sind stolz auf den Start unserer Kooperation, mit der wir die Versorgung von Biokraftstoffen in Österreich weiter sicherstellen. Mit dem Einsatz eines fortschrittlichen Biokraftstoffs der zweiten Generation kann die OMV einen wertvollen Beitrag leisten, um die Erfüllung der internationalen Klimaziele zu unterstützen.

„Mit unserem fortschrittlichen Bio-Kraftstoff gehen wir verantwortungsvoll mit unseren Ressourcen um und helfen, fossile Brennstoffe zu sparen. Wir werden unsere langfristige Strategie der ‚Green AustroCel‘ weiterführen und Nachhaltigkeit und wirtschaftlichen Erfolg verbinden"

Jörg Harbring, CEO AustroCel Hallein

Die AustroCel GmbH hat in die neue Bio-Ethanol-Anlage am Betriebsgelände in Hallein rund 42 Millionen Euro investiert und Arbeitsplätze für zusätzliche 10 Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeiter geschaffen. „Trotz der Herausforderungen der aktuellen Situation konnten wir mit höchsten Sicherheitsstandards über die gesamte Umsetzungszeit des Projekts unseren Zeit- und Kostenplan einhalten. Unser Team und unsere Partner haben Großartiges geleistet. Die Anlage ist fertig und erfolgreich in den Probebetrieb gestartet“, erklärt Franz Dieterich, Leiter Projektmanagement bei AustroCel.

Seit Jänner 2021 läuft der Vollbetrieb und es gehen regelmäßige Lieferungen von Bio-Ethanol an die OMV.

Ansprechperson:

Ingrid Einspieler
ingrid.einspieler@austrocel.com

Erfahren Sie mehr zu...

Relevante Artikel

Gumpendorfer Straße 6
1060 Wien

Telefon:  +43 (0)1 – 588 86 – 0
Fax:         +43 (0)1 – 588 86 – 222
E-Mail:    austropapier@austropapier.at

NEWSLETTER
ANMELDUNG

FOLGEN SIE UNS AUF

MITGLIEDER-BEREICH

LOGIN STATISTIK-EINGABE

Copyright © 2021 Austropapier – Vereinigung der Österreichischen Papierindustrie
gemeinsam mit dem Fachverband der Papierindustrie