FOREST CERTIFICATION
Sustainable forestry for the healthy forest of tomorrow

The paper industry is committed to sustainable forest management. 100% of the wood it processes comes from sustainable forestry. This proof is provided by forest certification systems such as PEFC and FSC.

wood
Comparison of the certification systems
Certification system
PEFC
FSC
Year of foundation
1999
1993
Data basis
March 2020
February 2020
Forest Certification Austria
3.1 million ha
586 ha
Global forest certification
320 million ha
204 million ha
Chain of custody certification Austria
519 Company
307 Company
Product Chain Certification Global
12,010 Company
41,005 Company

Sustainable forest management as a goal

Two ways

PEFC and FSC are regarded by the Austrian paper industry as equivalent certification systems. Here, the industry attaches particular importance to the areas of comparability of standards, transparency, promotion of sustainable forestry, reconciliation of interests and stakeholder integration in decisions. However, there is potential for improvement. Only a permanently improved system can meet the - constantly changing - requirements.

PEFC

PEFC is committed to family forestry and was founded in Europe in 1999. The organization has its headquarters in Geneva, Switzerland, but operates an independent national working group in each member country. It is of particular interest to small forest enterprises, often in rural ownership. The hallmark of PEFC is the regional certification, which allows forest owners to join a large-scale, existing certification scheme. Standards are set according to the principle of integrative forestry close to the level of national forest laws. The aim is not to create any additional bureaucratic burden for forest owners.

As a member of the general assembly of PEFC Austria, the paper industry actively participates in international working groups to ensure the integrity and quality of the standards. PEFC is the appropriate means to promote certification in the small-scale Austrian forestry industry.

austropapier logo partner pefc
forest stewardship council logo

FSC

FSC was founded in 1993 to protect the tropical forests of the global south. The organisation has its headquarters in Mexico and Germany. Standards are usually developed by national working groups, but transitional standards can also be developed by audit firms if a country does not yet have a national working group.       

FSC has hardly been introduced into Austria's forests, which is also due to the rural family forestry that prevails in the Alpine Republic. FSC is particularly suitable for larger forest owners and state forests, since in addition to integrative forestry, wilderness conservation areas are to be permanently taken out of use.

In the national risk analyses prepared by FSC, decisions are often not transparent and are not taken with sufficient stakeholder integration. In a joint dialogue with FSC, a commitment was made to jointly revise the risk analyses.

New possibilities through ISO

ISO, the International Standardization Organization, has created a real alternative to FSC and PEFC with the standard "ISO 38200 Chain of custody standard for wood and wood-based products". ISO 38200 assures the traceability of wood products and enables companies to pass on other important statements certified to the customer. Certified statements on product origin, raw material procurement and processing specific properties are now possible for the first time. It is important that all statements can be quantified, measured and verified. A further differentiating feature of ISO 38200 from the above standards is the clear separation of forest standards and product chain standards. ISO 38200 only ensures traceability within the supply chain, but does not make any specific demands on forest management.

shutterstock 288188003

Contact person

Hans Grieshofer
hans.grieshofer@austropapier.at

Relevant articles

Active forestry is the basis of the bioeconomy

Renewable raw materials from sustainably managed forests form the basis of biobased products. In addition to sufficient availability of raw materials, active management also guarantees increased carbon uptake by the forests.

MORE "

FORSTZERTIFIZIERUNG
Nachhaltige Forstwirtschaft für den gesunden Wald für morgen

Die Papierindustrie bekennt sich zur nachhaltigen Forstwirtschaft. 100 % des Holzes, das sie verarbeitet, stammen aus nachhaltiger Forstwirtschaft. Diesen Nachweis liefern Forstzertifizierungssysteme wie PEFC und FSC.

holz
Vergleich der Zertifizierungssysteme
Zertifizierungssystem
PEFC
FSC
Gründungsjahr
1999
1993
Datengrundlage
März 2020
Februar 2020
Waldzertifizierung Österreich
3,1 Mio ha
586 ha
Waldzertifizierung global
320 Mio. ha
204 Mio. ha
Produktkettenzertifizierung Österreich
519 Unternehmen
307 Unternehmen
Produktkettenzertifizierung Global
12.010 Unternehmen
41.005 Unternehmen

Nachhaltige Forstwirtschaft als Ziel

Zwei Wege

PEFC und FSC werden von der österr. Papierindustrie als gleichwertige Zertifizierungssysteme angesehen. Hier legt die Branche besonderen Wert auf die Bereiche Vergleichbarkeit der Standards, Transparenz, Förderung nachhaltiger Forstwirtschaft, Interessensausgleich und Stakeholder-Integration in Entscheidungen. Allerdings gibt es Verbesserungspotentiale. Nur ein permanent verbessertes System kann den – sich permanent veränderten – Anforderungen gerecht werden.

PEFC

PEFC bekennt sich zur Familienforstwirtschaft und wurde 1999 in Europa gegründet. Die Organisation hat den Hauptsitz in Genf, Schweiz, betreibt aber in jedem Mitgliedsland eine eigenständige nationale Arbeitsgruppe. Es ist besonders für kleine Forstbetriebe, oft in bäuerlicher Hand, interessant. Kennzeichen für PEFC ist die Regionenzertifizierung, welche es Waldbesitzern erlaubt, einer großflächigen, bestehenden Zertifizierung beizutreten. Standards werden nach dem Prinzip der integrativen Forstwirtschaft nahe dem Niveau der nationalen Forstgesetze erlassen. Ziel ist es, keine bürokratische Zusatzbelastung für die Waldbesitzer zu erzeugen.

Als Hauptversammlungsmitglied von PEFC Austria arbeitet die Papierindustrie aktiv in internationalen Arbeitsgruppen mit, um die Integrität und Qualität der Standards zu sichern. PEFC ist das geeignete Mittel, um in der kleinstrukturierten Österreichischen Forstwirtschaft die Zertifizierung voranzutreiben.

austropapier logo partner pefc
forest stewardship council logo

FSC

FSC wurde 1993 zum Schutz der Tropenwälder des globalen Südens gegründet. Die Hauptsitze der Organisation sind in Mexiko und in Deutschland. Standards werden meist von nationalen Arbeitsgruppen entwickelt, jedoch können auch Übergangsstandards durch Auditgesellschaften erarbeitet werden, wenn es in einem Land noch keine nationale Arbeitsgruppe gibt.       

FSC hat in Österreichs Wäldern kaum Einzug erhalten, dies liegt auch an der bäuerlichen Familienforstwirtschaft, welche in der Alpenrepublik vorherrscht. FSC eignet sich besonders für größere Waldbesitzer und Staatswälder, da neben integrativer Forstwirtschaft auch Wildnisschutzgebiete permanent aus der Nutzung genommen werden sollen.

Bei den von FSC erstellten nationalen Risikoanalysen sind die Entscheidungen häufig nicht transparent und werden nicht mit ausreichender Stakeholder-Integration getroffen. Im gemeinsamen Dialog mit FSC wurde die gemeinsame Überarbeitung der Risikoanalysen zugesagt.

Neue Möglichkeiten durch ISO

ISO, die Internationale Standardisierungsorganisation, hat mit dem Standard „ISO 38200 Produktkettenstandard für Holz und holzbasierte Produkte“ eine echte Alternative zu FSC und PEFC geschaffen. ISO 38200 versichert die Rückverfolgbarkeit von Holzprodukten und ermöglicht es Unternehmen, andere wichtige Aussagen zertifiziert an den Kunden weiterzugeben. So sind nun zertifizierte Aussagen zur Produktherkunft, Rohstoffbeschaffung und verarbeitungsspezifischen Eigenschaften erstmals möglich. Wichtig ist, dass alle Aussagen quantifizierbar, messbar und überprüfbar sind. Ein weiteres Differenzierungsmerkmal von ISO 38200 zu den oben genannten Standards ist die klare Trennung von Waldstandards und Produktkettenstandards. ISO 38200 sichert nur die Rückverfolgung innerhalb der Lieferkette ab, stellt aber keine spezifischen Anforderungen an die Waldbewirtschaftung.

shutterstock 288188003

Ansprechperson

Veit Heigenhauser
veit.heigenhauser@austropapier.at

Relevante Artikel