Paper industry: Stronger demand for paper, but trembling about gas

The paper industry will experience a significant upswing in 2021, but this will be dampened by high costs for raw materials and energy. The Ukraine crisis is causing the industry to worry about gas supplies, which is making decarbonisation and renewable energies all the more important. Bioeconomy is the industry's vision for the future.

Trend goes upwards
After the Corona-related slump in 2020, demand for paper will increase again in 2021. Accordingly, total production rises again above 5 million tonnes (+7.3% compared to 2020), while pulp production remains stable at 2 million tonnes (- 0.9% compared to 2020). This benefits graphic papers in particular, which increase by 14 % with a production of 2.2 million tonnes. The continuing trend towards online shopping and environmentally friendly packaging is noticeable with an increase of 2.1 % in packaging papers. With a production of 2.5 million tonnes, they now rank first among the paper grades. Speciality papers, which include sanitary papers, also increase by 6.7 % to 325,000 tonnes. The increased demand boosts the industry's turnover by 15.2 % to over 4 billion euros. However, with a downer, because according to Austropapier President Kurt Maier "The economic upswing last year was dampened by higher costs for raw materials and energy". Energy accounts for 20% of the total costs of a paper mill, making the industry one of the most energy-intensive sectors. In 2021, it already had to dig deeper into its pockets for gas, electricity and CO2 certificates, and the prices of waste paper and pulp also rose significantly. With the Ukraine war, the energy situation has worsened to such an extent that the first companies had to shut down their production at short notice. 

Thetrembling for gas
Although the paper industry is a pioneer in green energy production with a share of 60% of renewable energy, it is still dependent on gas for 35% of its energy. Austropapier President Maier explains this as follows: "Gas is a bridging technology that will be with us for some time to come. However, we are continuously investing in climate protection measures in order to achieve the climate targets". In the event of a gas embargo, production could no longer continue, according to Maier. Packaging for food and medicine, but also sanitary paper, would no longer be available within a short time. Deliveries of district heating and electricity, with which the paper industry currently supplies more than 100,000 households, could also no longer take place. The paper industry is therefore calling for increased promotion of decarbonisation measures and unbureaucratic approval procedures to successively reduce the demand for gas.

Goal in the future: decarbonisation and bioeconomy
"Decarbonisation is not a question of obs, but of when. We are on the right track as a paper industry and stand by the climate targets," Max Oberhumer, energy spokesman for Austropapier, is convinced. Despite production growth of 7.3%, the paper industry was able to stabilise itsCO2 emissions in 2021. A large part of the investments in the paper mills serves the goal ofCO2 savings; in 2021 they amounted to 218 million euros. The industry's goal is bioeconomy, a form of economy based on renewable raw materials and using them as sustainably as possible. The focus must be on the optimal use of all wood components. "The raw material wood offers many possibilities to replace fossil products. We are working intensively to make the bioeconomy a reality," says Max Oberhumer optimistically.

About Austropapier
The Association of the Austrian Paper Industry is celebrating its 150th anniversary this year. It was founded in 1872 by 20 paper mills, managed the reconstruction after the Second World War, founded its own training centre, where still today the foremen are trained and is part of the cooperation platform forestry-wood-paper. Today it represents the interests of 23 member companies and is the common voice vis-à-vis politics, the media and other stakeholders. In particular, it advocates the correct, but above all resource-conserving use of wood as a valuable material, with the overarching goal of decarbonisation and the transformation of the economic system to a bioeconomy.

You can watch the press conference here: https://events.streaming.at/austropapier-20220426

 

Further inquiries

Julia Löwenstein
Austropapier Public Relations
Tel: +43 650 6201079
Mail: julia.loewenstein@austropapier.at

Patrick Mader
Austropapier Public Relations
Tel: +43 699 17686014
Mail: patrick.mader@austropapier.at

Relevant articles

sigrid eckhardt martin zahlbruckner handshake c austro paper
Climate protection

Change at the top of the paper industry

Since mid-May, the Association of the Austrian Paper Industry has a new Managing Director in Sigrid Eckhardt, and Martin Zahlbruckner succeeds Kurt Maier as President of Austropapier.

MORE "
Press releases

Paper industry demands real relief on energy costs

Austria's paper industry is enormously affected by the exorbitant energy prices. Despite a high share of renewable energy sources, many companies are dependent on gas. Projects are underway at all mills to become less dependent on fossil fuels. In the short term, however, the industry needs rapid relief to maintain production.

MORE "

Papierindustrie: Stärkere Nachfrage nach Papier, aber Zittern um Gas

Die Papierindustrie erlebt 2021 einen deutlichen Aufschwung, der aber von hohen Kosten für Rohstoffe und Energie gedämpft wird. Die Ukraine-Krise lässt die Branche um die Gasversorgung bangen, umso mehr rücken Dekarbonisierung und erneuerbare Energien in den Fokus. Bioökonomie lautet die Zukunftsvision der Branche.

Trend geht nach oben
Nach dem Corona-bedingten Einbruch 2020 wird Papier 2021 wieder verstärkt nachgefragt. Die Gesamtproduktion steigt dementsprechend wieder über 5 Millionen Tonnen (+7,3 % gegenüber 2020), die Zellstoffproduktion bleibt stabil bei 2 Millionen Tonnen (- 0,9 % gegenüber 2020). Davon profitieren insbesondere grafische Papiere, die mit einer Produktion von 2,2 Millionen Tonnen um 14 % zulegen. Der anhaltende Trend zu Online Shopping und umweltfreundlichen Verpackungen macht sich mit einem Zuwachs von 2,1 % bei Verpackungspapieren bemerkbar. Mit einer Produktion von 2,5 Millionen Tonnen liegen sie nun an erster Stelle der Papiersorten. Spezialpapiere, zu denen auch Hygienepapiere zählen, legen ebenfalls um 6,7 % auf 325.000 Tonnen zu. Die gestiegene Nachfrage steigert den Umsatz der Branche um 15,2 % über 4 Milliarden Euro. Allerdings mit einem Wermutstropfen, denn so Austropapier Präsident Kurt Maier „Der wirtschaftliche Aufschwung im letzten Jahr wurde durch höhere Kosten bei Rohstoffen und Energie gedämpft“. 20 % der Gesamtkosten einer Papierfabrik entfallen auf Energie, somit zählt die Industrie zu den energieintensiven Branchen. Schon 2021 musste sie für Gas, Strom sowie CO2-Zertifikate tiefer in die Tasche greifen, auch die Altpapier- und Zellstoffpreise stiegen deutlich. Mit dem Ukrainekrieg hat sich die Situation bei Energie derart verschärft, dass erste Unternehmen ihre Produktion kurzfristig stilllegen mussten. 

Das Zittern um Gas
Zwar ist die Papierindustrie mit einem Anteil von 60 % an erneuerbarer Energie Vorreiter bei der Ökoenergieerzeugung, dennoch ist sie noch zu 35 % auf Gas angewiesen. Austropapier Präsident Maier erklärt das so: „Gas ist eine Brückentechnologie, die uns noch einige Zeit lange begleiten wird. Wir investieren aber kontinuierlich in Klimaschutzmaßnahmen, um die Klimaziele zu erreichen“. Im Falle eines Gasembargos könnte laut Maier nicht mehr weiterproduziert werden. Verpackungen für Lebensmittel und Medikamente, aber auch Hygienepapiere, wären innerhalb kurzer Zeit nicht mehr verfügbar. Auch Lieferungen von Fernwärme und Strom, mit denen die Papierindustrie derzeit über 100.000 Haushalte versorgt, könnten nicht mehr stattfinden. Die Papierindustrie fordert deshalb die verstärkte Förderung von Dekarbonisierungs-maßnahmen und unbürokratische Genehmigungsverfahren, um den Gasbedarf sukzessive zu reduzieren.

Ziel in der Zukunft: Dekarbonisierung und Bioökonomie
„Die Dekarbonisierung ist keine Frage des Obs, sondern des Wanns. Wir sind als Papierindustrie auf einem guten Weg und stehen zu den Klima-Zielen“, ist Max Oberhumer, Energiesprecher der Austropapier, überzeugt. Trotz des Produktions-wachstums um 7,3 % konnte die Papierindustrie 2021 ihren CO2-Ausstoß stabilisieren. Ein Großteil der Investitionen in den Papierfabriken dient dem Ziel der CO2-Einsparung, 2021 lagen sie bei 218 Millionen Euro. Das Ziel der Branche lautet Bioökonomie, eine Wirtschaftsform, die auf erneuerbaren Rohstoffen aufbaut und diese möglichst nachhaltig nutzt. Der Fokus muss auf der optimalen Nutzung aller Holzbestandteile liegen. „Der Rohstoff Holz bietet viele Möglichkeiten, fossile Produkte zu ersetzen. Wir arbeiten intensiv daran, die Bioökonomie Wirklichkeit werden zu lassen“, zeigt sich Max Oberhumer optimistisch.

Über Austropapier
Die Vereinigung der Österreichischen Papierindustrie feiert heuer 150-jähriges Jubiläum. 1872 wurde sie von 20 Papierfabriken gegründet, schaffte den Wiederaufbau nach dem zweiten Weltkrieg, gründete ein eigenes Ausbildungszentrum, indem noch heute die Werkmeister:innen ausgebildet werden und ist Teil der Kooperationsplattform Forst-Holz-Papier. Heute vertritt sie die Interessen von 23 Mitgliedsunternehmen und ist die gemeinsame Stimme gegenüber Politik, Medien und anderen Stakeholdern. Dabei setzt sie sich insbesondere für die richtige, aber vor allem ressourcenschonende Nutzung des Wertstoff Holz ein, mit dem übergeordneten Ziel der Dekarbonisierung und der Transformation des Wirtschaftssystems zur Bioökonomie.

Hier können Sie die Pressekonferenz nachsehen: https://events.streaming.at/austropapier-20220426

 

Rückfragen

Julia Löwenstein
Austropapier Öffentlichkeitsarbeit
Tel: +43 650 6201079
Mail: julia.loewenstein@austropapier.at

Patrick Mader
Austropapier Öffentlichkeitsarbeit
Tel: +43 699 17686014
Mail: patrick.mader@austropapier.at

Relevante Artikel

sigrid eckhardt martin zahlbruckner handshake c austropapier
Klimaschutz

Wechsel an der Spitze der Papierindustrie

Seit Mitte Mai hat die Vereinigung der Österreichischen Papierindustrie mit Sigrid Eckhardt eine neue Geschäftsführerin, Martin Zahlbruckner folgt Kurt Maier als Präsident der Austropapier nach.

MEHR »
Pressemeldungen

Papierindustrie fordert echte Entlastungen bei Energiekosten

Österreichs Papierindustrie ist von den exorbitanten Energiepreisen enorm betroffen. Trotz hohem Anteil an erneuerbaren Energieträgern sind viele Unternehmen auf Gas angewiesen. In allen Werken laufen Projekte, um von fossilen Energieträgern weniger abhängig zu werden. Kurzfristig benötigt die Industrie jedoch rasche Entlastungen, um die Produktion aufrecht zu erhalten.

MEHR »