Extensive applied research activities are the prerequisite for new technical developments that lead to increasing efficiency as well as new, sustainable products and further value creation. By means of an innovation-friendly climate and the targeted promotion of research activities, Austria is making the transition to a sustainable economy.

FACTS

research

Currently 5 cooperative research projects are underway in which several companies are working together. Almost all of them are funded by the Research Promotion Agency (FFG).

The project volume of all research projects coordinated via Autopapier is more than 500,000 euros.

The current focus is on projects with the potential to save raw materials, reduce emissions and make production processes more sustainable.

Research partner institutes: BOKU, TU Graz, Wood Research Austria, AC²T research GmbH

shutter stock 1084540778

Creating a climate conducive to innovation

Good framework conditions secure investments in the future. To ensure that companies continue to invest in research projects in Austria, we need an innovation-friendly climate. Since the need for innovation and research activities cannot always be planned in advance and relevant topics often only emerge in the short term, it is particularly important that the open-topic basic programmes of the Austrian Research Promotion Agency are adequately funded for the coming years. This is how we keep innovative companies in Austria and support them in their future-oriented orientation.

Debureaucratisation of research cooperation

The paper industry does not only carry out product-related research, but also in cross-company projects that would exceed the financial scope of individual companies. In future, cross-industry research cooperations will also play an important role in the development of completely new products. It is important to promote and advance such joint projects with as little bureaucratic effort as possible. In this way we support the innovative power of industry in an uncomplicated way.

shutter stock 1436495414
shutterstock 605212919

Closely linking business and research

Between basic research and the development of marketable products and value chains there are many intensive working hours. Applied research is therefore an important prerequisite for the further development of the manufacturing industry. In order to successfully build these bridges between (basic) research and its economic exploitation, cooperation between industry and research must be supported by suitable programmes (e.g. COMET, Christian Doppler Laboratories, funded industry-related scientific theses, ...).

BEST PRACTICE

shutterstock 1481963861

PAPER INDUSTRY RESEARCHES
BIO-BASED BARRIER MATERIALS

Paper and board have many positive properties for packaging applications. However, the barrier effect against fat, oil, water vapour and gases such as oxygen is not always sufficient. Packaging papers are therefore often coated with polymers to achieve the desired barrier effect. In the course of the research project "Barrier Paper" the suitability of novel, bio-based barrier materials or coatings for the packaging industry is being investigated.

CURRENT RESEARCH PROJECTS

Fast process control using NIR measurements

The aim of this project is a rapid characterization of pulp with regard to selected parameters by means of near infrared (NIR) measurements. This should enable process changes to be detected as quickly as possible. This characterization will be achieved by comparing the NIR measurements with a statistical database of samples that have been analyzed by NIR as well as by gel permeation chromatography (GPC) with fluorescent labeling.

Calender tribology

The aim of the project is the optimization of calender efficiency based on tribological investigations.

EcoAgent 

In the course of the project, new technically suitable and legally compliant alternative complexing agents are to be identified to replace EDTA and DTPA. Further focal points are the better knowledge of the process conditions, the optimization of the application as well as the acceleration of the degradation of selected complexing agents.

Strength plus

The aim of Stärke plus is to use a comprehensive methodology to gain a holistic understanding of the central aspects of starch processing. In this way, the interactions of starch, one of the most important additives in paper production, with cellulose materials can be better controlled.

FibreZyme

The effective use of enzymes in the paper and fiber industry is currently hampered by a lack of knowledge about their exact mechanism of action. This is where Project FiberZyme comes in. Using different imaging and analytical methods, the project aims to make the effect of individual enzymes and their mixtures on the fibre visible. In addition, control strategies for industrial application will be established.

Contact person:

Renate Kepplinger
renate.kepplinger@austropapier.at

Relevant articles

Umfangreiche angewandte Forschungstätigkeit ist die Voraussetzung für neue technische Entwicklungen, die zu steigender Effizienz sowie neuen, nachhaltigen Produkten und weiterer Wertschöpfung führen. Durch ein innovationsfreudiges Klima und die gezielte Förderung von Forschungsaktivitäten schafft Österreich die Umstellung auf eine nachhaltige Wirtschaftsweise.

FAKTEN

forschung

Aktuell laufen 5 kooperative Forschungsprojekte, bei denen mehrere Firmen zusammenarbeiten. Fast alle werden von der Forschungsförderungsgesellschaft (FFG) gefördert.

Das Projektvolumen aller über Autropapier koordinierten Forschungsprojekte beträgt mehr als 500.000 Euro.

Im Fokus stehen derzeit insbesondere Projekte mit Potenzial, Rohstoffe einzusparen, Emissionen zu reduzieren sowie die Produktionsprozesse nachhaltiger zu gestalten.

Forschungspartnerinstitute: BOKU, TU Graz, Holzforschung Austria, AC²T research GmbH

shutterstock 1084540778

Innovationsfreundliches Klima schaffen

Gute Rahmenbedingungen sichern Investitionen in die Zukunft. Damit Unternehmen auch künftig noch in Forschungsprojekte am Standort Österreich investieren, brauchen wir ein innovationsfreundliches Klima. Da Innovationsbedarf und Forschungsaktivität nicht immer im Voraus planbar sind und sich relevante Themen oft erst kurzfristig herauskristallisieren, ist es besonders wichtig, dass die themenoffenen Basisprogramme der österreichischen Forschungsförderungsgesellschaft für die nächsten Jahre ausreichend dotiert werden. So halten wir innovationsfreudige Unternehmen in Österreich und unterstützen sie in ihrer zukunftsorientierten Ausrichtung.

Entbürokratisierung von Forschungskooperationen

Die Papierindustrie forscht nicht nur produktbezogen, sondern auch in firmenübergreifenden Projekten, die den finanziellen Rahmen einzelner Unternehmen übersteigen würden. In Zukunft werden zudem branchenübergreifende Forschungskooperationen eine wichtige Rolle für die Entwicklung komplett neuer Produkte spielen. Derartige Gemeinschaftsarbeiten gilt es mit möglichst geringem bürokratischem Aufwand zu fördern und voranzutreiben. So unterstützen wir unkompliziert die Innovationskraft der Industrie.

shutterstock 1436495414
shutterstock 605212919

Wirtschaft und Forschung eng verknüpfen

Zwischen Grundlagenforschung und der Entwicklung marktfähiger Produkte und Wertschöpfungsketten liegen viele intensive Arbeitsstunden. Angewandte Forschung ist daher eine wichtige Voraussetzung für die Weiterentwicklung der produzierenden Industrie. Um diese Brücken zwischen der (Grundlagen-) Forschung und ihrer wirtschaftlichen Verwertung erfolgreich zu schlagen, gilt es Kooperationen zwischen Wirtschaft und Forschung durch geeignete Programme (wie z.B. COMET, Christian-Doppler-Labors, geförderte industrienahe wissenschaftliche Abschlussarbeiten,..) zu unterstützen.

BEST PRACTICE

shutterstock 1481963861

PAPIERINDUSTRIE FORSCHT AN
BIO-BASIERTEN BARRIEREMATERIALIEN

Papier und Karton haben vielfältige positive Eigenschaften für Verpackungsanwendungen. Die Barrierewirkung gegenüber Fett, Öl, Wasserdampf und Gasen wie Sauerstoff ist aber nicht immer ausreichend. Verpackungspapiere werden daher häufig mit Polymeren beschichtet, um die gewünschte Barrierewirkung zu erzielen. Im Zuge des Forschungsprojekts „Barrierepapier“ wird die Eignung neuartiger, biobasierter Barrierematerialien bzw. -beschichtungen für die Verpackungsindustrie untersucht.

AKTUELLE FORSCHUNGSPROJEKTE

Schnelle Prozesskontrolle mittels NIR-Messungen

Ziel dieses Projektes ist eine rasche Charakterisierung von Zellstoff in Hinblick auf ausgewählte Parameter mittels Messungen im nahen Infrarot (NIR). Dadurch sollen Prozessveränderungen möglichst schnell erkannt werden. Gelingen soll diese Charakterisierung durch den Abgleich der NIR-Messungen mit einer statistischen Datenbank von Proben, die sowohl mittels NIR als auch mittels Gelpermeationschromatografie (GPC) mit Fluoreszenzmarkierung analysiert wurden.

Kalandertribologie

Ziel des Projektes ist die Optimierung der Kalandereffizienz auf Basis tribologischer Untersuchungen.

EcoAgent 

Im Zuge des Projekts sollen neue technisch geeigneten und gesetzeskonformen Alternativkomplexbildnern als Ersatz von EDTA und DTPA identifiziert werden. Weitere Schwerpunkte sind die bessere Kenntnis der Prozessbedingungen, die Optimierung des Einsatzes, sowie die Beschleunigung des Abbaus von ausgewählten Komplexbildnern.

Stärke plus

Ziel von Stärke plus ist es, mit einer umfassenden Methodik die zentralen Aspekte der Stärkeaufbereitung ganzheitlich zu verstehen. Auf diese Weise sollen Wechselwirkungen von Stärke, eines der wichtigsten Additive in der Papierproduktion, mit cellulosischen Materialien besser gesteuert werden können.

FibreZyme

Dem effektiven Einsatz von Enzymen in der Papier- und Faserindustrie steht aktuell das mangelnde Wissen über deren genauen Wirkmechanismus im Weg. An diesem Punkt setzt Projekt FiberZyme an. Mittels verschiedener bildgebenden und analytischen Verfahren soll die Wirkung einzelner Enzyme und deren Mischungen an der Faser sichtbar gemacht werden. Außerdem sollen Kontrollstrategien für die industrielle Anwendung etabliert werden.

Ansprechperson:

Renate Kepplinger
renate.kepplinger@austropapier.at

Relevante Artikel