ENVIRONMENT
Economic activity in harmony with nature

The paper industry has established itself as a pioneer in the field of sustainability thanks to its high recycling rate and the optimal use of resources in production and recycling of residual materials. It is a living example of how environmental impact can also be minimized.

FACTS

environment
Over the years, the paper industry has invested over 1 billion euros in environmental protection, making it a model industry in terms of sustainability. Almost 100 million euros are invested in environmental protection measures every year.
 
Water is essential for paper production, 90% of the water is returned to the rivers in a clean state. The rest is steam or remains in the product as residual moisture.
 
More than 95 % of production residues are recycled or thermally recovered.

Strengthening the circular economy

It all starts with wood as a raw material, where the principle of cascading use is paramount: Wood and its components are processed into as many high-quality products as possible, only the remaining part is used for energy production. The paper produced is used for packaging, print products and even sanitary paper. After use, the products can be recycled several times (studies have shown up to 25 times) in the form of waste paper. The recycling of the wood fibres leads to a saving of resources. The cascading use of wood results in numerous new products made of wood components, which can replace fossil-based materials in the future.

Closed Substance Cycle Waste Management
Bach

Water is only borrowed

Water is an important resource in paper production. Water is taken - mostly from rivers - and circulated as long as possible. Water that is no longer needed is cleaned and returned to the river. Water is therefore only borrowed from the river. In order to further strengthen and promote recycling management, technical, legal and financial hurdles on the way to an environmentally friendly economy must be removed.

Paper products as an ecological alternative to plastic

Various European and national initiatives are dedicated to reducing the consumption of plastics. Paper-based food packaging contains up to 90% less plastic than comparable plastic packaging, is also recyclable and is made of renewable raw materials. At national level, Austria has decided to ban disposable plastic bags from 2020. Paper carrier bags are an ecological alternative to plastic, as they are made of renewable raw materials and can be recycled. Moreover, they decompose quickly if they end up in the environment. No other material offers such a good mix of economy and ecology - a prime example of a functioning recycling economy.

shutter stock 235569796

Contact person

Dipl.-Ing. Kathrin Höfferer
kathrin.hoefferer@austropapier.at

Relevant articles

UMWELT
Wirtschaften im Einklang mit der Natur

Durch ihre hohe Recyclingquote sowie den optimalen Ressourceneinsatz bei Produktion und Reststoffverwertung hat sich die Papierindustrie als Vorreiterin in Sachen Nachhaltigkeit etabliert. Sie lebt vor, wie man zusätzlich auch noch die Umweltauswirkungen minimieren kann.

FAKTEN

umwelt
Die Papierindustrie hat im Laufe der Jahre über 1 Mrd. Euro in den Umweltschutz investiert und ist dadurch eine Vorzeigebranche in Sachen Nachhaltigkeit. Pro Jahr fließen fast 100 Mio. Euro in Umweltschutzmaßnahmen. 
 
Wasser ist für die Papierproduktion unerlässlich, 90 % des Wassers werden wieder sauber in die Flüsse rückgeleitet. Der Rest ist Dampf oder verbleibt als Restfeuchtigkeit im Produkt.
 
Mehr als 95 % der Produktionsreststoffe werden stofflich oder thermisch verwertet.

Kreislaufwirtschaft stärken

Alles beginnt beim Rohstoff Holz, bei dem das Prinzip der kaskadischen Nutzung über allem steht: Holz und seine Bestandteile werden zu möglichst vielen hochwertigen Produkten verarbeitet, nur der verbleibende Rest der Energieerzeugung zugeführt. Das erzeugte Papier wird für Verpackungen, Printprodukte bis hin zu Hygienepapier verwendet. Nach dem Gebrauch können die Produkte in Form von Altpapier mehrmals (Studien zu Folge sogar bis zu 25-mal) wiederverwertet werden. Die Kreislaufführung der Holzfasern führt dabei zur Ressourceneinsparung. Durch die kaskadische Nutzung von Holz entstehen zahlreiche neue Produkte aus Holzbestandteilen, die in Zukunft fossil-basierte Stoffe ersetzen können.

Kreislaufwirtschaft
Bach

Wasser wird nur geliehen

Wasser ist ein wichtiges Hilfsmittel der Papierproduktion. Wasser wird – meist aus Flüssen – entnommen und so lange wie möglich im Kreis geführt. Wasser das nicht mehr gebraucht wird, wird gereinigt in den Fluss zurückgeleitet. Wasser wird somit vom Fluss nur geliehen. Um Kreislaufwirtschaft weiter zu stärken und voranzutreiben, gilt es technische, rechtliche und finanzielle Hürden auf dem Weg zu einer umweltschonenden Wirtschaft abzubauen.

Papierprodukte als ökologische Alternative zu Plastik

Diverse europäische und nationale Initiativen widmen sich der Senkung des Plastikverbrauchs. Papierbasierte Lebensmittelverpackungen enthalten bis zu 90 % weniger Kunststoff als vergleichbare Kunststoffverpackungen, sind darüber hinaus recyclebar und bestehen aus nachwachsenden Rohstoffen. Auf nationaler Ebene hat Österreich ein Verbot von Einweg-Plastiksackerln ab 2020 beschlossen. Tragetaschen aus Papier stellen eine ökologische Alternative zu Kunststoff dar, da sie aus nachwachsenden Rohstoffen hergestellt und wiederverwertbar sind. Außerdem zersetzen sie sich rasch, wenn sie doch in der Umwelt landen. Kein anderes Material bietet einen so guten Mix aus Ökonomie und Ökologie – ein Paradebeispiel für eine funktionierende Kreislaufwirtschaft.

shutterstock 235569796

Ansprechperson

Dipl.-Ing. Kathrin Höfferer
kathrin.hoefferer@austropapier.at

Relevante Artikel