SOCIAL POLICY
A world of work and an education system that meets today's needs

Our modern life and economy requires flexible solutions and legal framework conditions that enable even export-oriented industries to remain competitive. Reducing bureaucracy and lowering the above-average ancillary wage costs are long overdue. The shortage of skilled workers requires a reform of education at all levels of training.

people

The 24 mills of the paper industry employ 7,900 people.

The paper industry is part of the wood value chain, which employs 290,000 people in Austria alone.

359 apprentices are currently being trained in the companies.

The industry pays around 480 million euros in wages and salaries annually (2020).

The employees in the paper industry are highly qualified. Wages and salaries are among the highest in the industry.

Reduce bureaucracy

In Austria, EU directives as well as other regulations in labour and social law have often been implemented more strictly than required by EU regulations, quite the opposite of other countries such as Germany. This has worsened our international competitiveness. The Wage and Social Dumping Act, for example, is particularly detrimental to companies. In order to avoid this so-called "gold plating" as far as possible in the future, EU directives in the field of labour and social law should be implemented with the involvement of the social partners. In the legal harmonisation of workers/employees there is still a separation at the level of trade unions, works councils and collective agreements. This distinction is no longer appropriate, particularly in collective labour law.

shutter stock 1135769117
shutterstock 238393213

reduce non-wage labour costs

Austria continues to occupy a top position in terms of the tax and contribution burden. According to the OECD, the average single earner will have a tax and contribution ratio of 42.2 % in 2018. This puts Austria in 7th place out of 33 countries. Germany is five places behind Austria with a significantly lower 38.2 %. This means that our Austrian locations have also lost competitiveness compared to Germany in terms of labour costs. We are therefore calling for a radical reduction in non-wage labour costs. There is potential in accident insurance, the insolvency compensation fund and the law on night work. In this way we can increase our competitiveness and innovative strength.

 

Educational reform to combat shortage of skilled workers

In order to continue to meet the demand for highly qualified specialists in the paper industry in the future, reforms in the education system are urgently needed. Measures here would be a performance orientation in the education system, for example through the achievement of externally reviewed educational goals at the end of the 8th grade, results-oriented school financing at all upper school types according to the number of pupils who complete this type of school positively, an expansion of school autonomy, a modernisation of teaching content and methods, and minimum standards in basic subjects (reading, arithmetic, etc.). A special focus must be placed - from an early age - on promoting interest in technology and the natural sciences. In addition, future demand for skilled labour should also be ensured by promoting dual vocational training and ensuring the attractiveness of technical/scientific training programmes. This is the only way we can ensure that our need for skilled labour will continue to be met in the future.

shutterstock 309241232

BEST PRACTICE

Mondi apprentices

PAPER GOES DIGITAL AT MONDI

In addition to their technical training and modules such as sports and health, apprentice etiquette and apprenticeship with Matura starting in autumn 2019, Mondi apprentices also have a one-day training course from the DaVinciLab in their first year of apprenticeship to increase their digital know-how. In the form of a youth hackathon, young people get to know state-of-the-art technologies and deal with digital skills such as coding and robotics in a one-day project. At the end, finished projects are created and submitted to an Austria-wide competition, which is implemented in cooperation with Fit4Internet.

Contact person:

Dr Werner Auracher
werner.auracher@austropapier.at

Relevant articles

home office pexels ekaterina bolovtsova

Home office law passed

Especially in these times, the topic of home office has come very much to the fore and has gained enormous importance for the working world. Now a home office law has been passed.

MORE "

SOZIALPOLITIK
Eine Arbeitswelt und ein Bildungssystem, die den heutigen Bedürfnissen gerecht werden

Unser modernes Leben und Wirtschaften erfordert flexible Lösungen und gesetzliche Rahmenbedingungen, die es auch exportorientierten Branchen ermöglichen, wettbewerbsfähig zu bleiben. Eine Reduktion der Bürokratie und eine Senkung der überdurchschnittlich hohen Lohnnebenkosten sind längst überfällig. Der Fachkräftemangel erfordert eine Reform der Bildung in allen Ausbildungsebenen.

menschen

In den 24 Werken der Papierindustrie arbeiten über 8000 Personen.

Die Papierindustrie ist Teil der Wertschöpfungskette Holz, die allein in Österreich 290.000 Menschen beschäftigt.

357 Lehrlinge werden derzeit in den Betrieben ausgebildet.

Die Branche zahlt jährlich rund 480 Millionen Euro Löhne und Gehälter (2019).

Die Beschäftigten der Papierindustrie sind hochqualifiziert. Die Löhne und Gehälter gehören zu den höchsten in der Industrie.

Bürokratie reduzieren

In Österreich wurden EU-Richtlinien, aber auch andere Regelungen im Arbeits- und Sozialrecht vielfach strenger umgesetzt als es die EU-Vorschriften vorsehen, ganz im Gegenteil zu anderen Ländern wie etwa Deutschland. Dies hat unsere internationale Wettbewerbsfähigkeit verschlechtert. Besonders nachteilig für die Betriebe ist etwa das Lohn- und Sozialdumping-Gesetz. Um dieses sogenannte „Gold Plating“ künftig möglichst zu vermeiden, sollten EU-Richtlinien im Bereich des Arbeits- und Sozialrechts unter Einbeziehung der Sozialpartner umgesetzt werden. Bei der gesetzlichen Angleichung Arbeiter/Angestellte gibt es weiterhin eine Trennung auf Ebene der Gewerkschaften, Betriebsräte und Kollektivverträge. Diese Unterscheidung ist insbesondere im kollektiven Arbeitsrecht nicht mehr zeitgemäß.

shutterstock 1135769117
shutterstock 238393213

Lohnnebenkosten senken

Österreich nimmt nach wie vor einen Spitzenplatz bei der Steuer- und Abgabenlast ein. Laut OECD kommt ein alleinstehender Durchschnittsverdiener 2018 auf eine Steuer- und Abgabenquote von 42,2 %. Österreich liegt damit an 7. Stelle von 33 Ländern. Deutschland liegt hier mit deutlich geringeren 38,2 % fünf Plätze hinter Österreich. Damit haben unsere österreichischen Standorte auch bei den Arbeitskosten gegenüber Deutschland an Wettbewerbsfähigkeit eingebüßt. Wir fordern daher eine radikale Senkung der Lohnnebenkosten. Potentiale gibt es etwa bei der Unfallversicherung, beim Insolvenzentgelt-Fonds und beim Nachtschwerarbeitsgesetz. So können wir unsere Wettbewerbsfähigkeit und Innovationskraft steigern.

 

Bildungsreform gegen Facharbeitermangel

Um auch in Zukunft den Bedarf an hochqualifizierten Fachkräften in der Papierindustrie decken zu können, sind dringend Reformen im Bildungssystem nötig. Als Maßnahmen wären hier eine Leistungsorientierung im Bildungssystem, etwa durch die Erreichung von extern überprüften Bildungszielen am Ende der 8. Schulstufe, eine ergebnisorientierte Schulfinanzierung an allen Oberstufen-Schulformen nach der Zahl der SchülerInnen, die diesen Schultyp positiv abschließen, eine Erweiterung der Schulautonomie, eine Modernisierung der Lehrinhalte und -methoden sowie Mindeststandards in Grundlagenfächern (Lesen, Rechnen etc.) zu nennen. Ein besonderer Schwerpunkt muss – von klein auf – auf der Förderung des Interesses für Technik und Naturwissenschaften liegen. Der künftige Fachkräftebedarf sollte darüber hinaus auch durch die Förderung der dualen Berufsausbildung sowie der Sicherung der Attraktivität von technisch/naturwissenschaftlichen Ausbildungsangeboten gewährleistet sein. Nur so können wir auch in Zukunft sicherstellen, dass unser Bedarf an Fachkräften gedeckt ist.

shutterstock 309241232

BEST PRACTICE

Mondi Lehrlinge

PAPER GOES DIGITAL BEI MONDI

Lehrlinge von Mondi haben neben ihrer fachlichen Ausbildung und Modulen wie Sport und Gesundheit, Lehrlingsknigge und Lehre mit Matura beginnend mit Herbst 2019 auch ein Ein-Tagestraining vom DaVinciLab im 1. Lehrjahr, um ihr Digital-Know-how zu steigern. In Form eines Youth-Hackathons lernen Jugendliche State of the Art Technologien kennen und beschäftigen sich im Rahmen eines Ein-Tages-Projekts mit digitalen Kompetenzen wie Coding und Robotics. Am Ende entstehen fertige Projekte, die in einem österreichweiten Wettbewerb eingereicht werden, der in Zusammenarbeit mit Fit4Internet umgesetzt wird.

Ansprechperson:

Dr. Werner Auracher
werner.auracher@austropapier.at

Relevante Artikel