ENERGY
Electricity and heat from renewable residues for the entire region

The effects of climate change require a rethinking of energy supply. As one of the largest industrial producers of green energy, the paper industry can make a significant contribution. It supplies households with renewable electricity and waste heat and contributes to grid stability.

FACTS

energy

The paper industry is energy-intensive. Its energy demand is 16,000 GWh, of which 4,400 GWh is electricity and 11,600 GWh is steam (heat). (2020)

However, the industry is also a major energy producer. with a total of 16,100 GWh of energy raised in 2020.

The majority of energy sources are renewable. At 60 %. residual materials from production such as bark, bio-alkali or sludge from wastewater treatment are used.

10 % of the total energy from renewables in Austria comes from the paper industry.

Exploiting the energy potential of industrial companies

Already today, the energy requirements of more than 100,000 households can be covered with electricity and district heating from the paper industry. This type of decentralized energy supply is energy-efficient, saves CO2 and helps to secure the site. There is still unused potential in industrial waste heat utilisation. The more suppliers, the better they can balance out supply fluctuations. A heat register, which compares heat sinks and sources, ensures that existing potentials take precedence over subsidized new plants. By adapting their energy management, companies can level out fluctuations in the electricity grid (system-beneficial behaviour). These are caused by the volatile character of e.g. wind and photovoltaics. In order to be able to fully exploit these potentials, the companies need a supportive legal framework and access to the various reserve markets. Exclusive criteria, such as mandatory decommissioning notifications, should be rejected.

nivellieb

0
GWh of electricity
0
GWh District heating

regional energy supply

for

0
Households
shutter stock 511785337

Efficiency criteria for the promotion of renewables

Efficiency is the most important key to the energy solution, whether it is consumption, production or promotion of energy. The new regulation of green electricity subsidies has been hotly debated in recent years. Recently, a proposal for a Renewable Energy Expansion Act was presented by the German government. However, there is still room for improvement in the area of efficiency. With the greatest possible market proximity and system responsibility, it must be ensured that those plants are promoted which generate green electricity at the lowest cost with maximumCO2 savings. In the case of plants that are dependent on raw materials, it is important that the degree of fuel utilisation is as high as possible so that maximum energy yield is achieved with the raw material used.

Green gas as an alternative?

Natural gas plays a central role in the heat and power supply of industrial processes, as well as for households and commerce. Green gas" (biogas and green hydrogen) is being discussed as an alternative to natural gas. However, it is questionable whether sufficient raw material potentials are available for this. It is therefore important to clarify in advance questions of raw material availability and logistics, technical application possibilities, economic efficiency and its financing. In order to achieve the objective of green gas shares, existing potentials must also be taken into account, even if they are used directly without grid feed-in. In any case, the paper industry will be an important partner both as a gas consumer and as a producer of biogas from residual and waste materials.

as well as

shutter stock 702924574
shutterstock 303371957

Fair competitive conditions for ancillary energy costs

Different framework conditions in individual EU countries distort intra-Community competition. Austrian companies, for example, have a clear locational disadvantage in terms of ancillary energy costs. In Germany alone, industrial companies receive energy policy relief from various titles. This results in cost disadvantages for Austrian companies amounting to millions, which have to be compensated elsewhere. This gap was exacerbated by the separation of the German-Austrian electricity price zone in October 2018, where it is necessary to harmonize the competitive conditions within the EU.

 

BEST PRACTICE

District heating pipe construction Sappi

PAPER INDUSTRY SUPPLIES DISTRICT
HEATING TO HOUSEHOLDS IN THE REGION

The paper industry has been supplying its immediate surroundings with waste heat for years. A gratifying major project in this context is the 11 km long district heating pipeline the Sappi Gratkorn paper mill to Graz. The project can supply 40,000 households in Graz with waste heat and save a total of 50,000 tons of CO2 per year.

Contact persons

Power Engineering
Renate Kepplinger
renate.kepplinger@austropapier.at

Energy Policy
Birgit Krista
birgit.krista@austropapier.at

Relevant articles

ENERGIE
Strom und Wärme aus erneuerbaren Reststoffen für die gesamte Region

Die Effekte des Klimawandels erfordern ein Umdenken der Energieversorgung. Die Papierindustrie kann als einer der größten industriellen Ökoenergieproduzenten wesentliche Beiträge leisten. Sie versorgt Haushalte mit erneuerbarem Strom und Abwärme und trägt zur Netzstabilität bei.

FAKTEN

energie

Die Papierindustrie ist energieintensiv. Ihr Energiebedarf liegt bei 16.300 GWh, davon 4.500 GWh Strom und 11.800 GWh Dampf (Wärme). (2019)

Die Branche ist aber auch ein großer Energieerzeuger. mit einer Aufbringung von insgesamt 16.600 GWh Energie im Jahr 2019.

Der Großteil sind die Energieträger erneuerbar. Zu 60 % werden Reststoffe aus der Produktion wie Rinde, Biolauge oder Schlämme aus der Abwasserreinigung eingesetzt.

10 % der gesamten in Österreich aufgebrachten Energie aus Erneurbaren stammen aus der Papierindustrie.

Energie-Potentiale der Industriebetriebe nützen

Bereits heute kann der Energiebedarf von mehr als 100.000 Haushalten mit Strom und Fernwärme aus der Papierindustrie gedeckt werden. Diese Art der dezentralen Energieversorgung ist energieeffizient, spart CO2 und trägt zur Sicherung des Standorts bei. Bei der industriellen Abwärmenutzung gibt es noch ungenutzte Potentiale. Je mehr Anbieter, desto besser können sie Angebotsschwankungen gegenseitig ausgleichen. Ein Wärmekataster, der Wärmesenken und -quellen gegenübergestellt, stellt den Vorrang von vorhandenen Potentialen vor geförderten Neuanlagen sicher. Durch die Anpassung ihrer Energiemanagements können Betriebe Schwankungen im Stromnetz nivellieren (systemdienliches Verhalten). Diese entstehen durch den volatilen Charakter von z.B. Wind und Photovoltaik. Um diese Potentiale voll nützen zu können, benötigen die Betriebe unterstützende gesetzliche Rahmenbedingungen und Zugang zu den verschiedenen Reservemärkten. Ausschließende Kriterien, wie z.B. verpflichtende Stilllegungsanzeigen, sind abzulehnen.

nivellieb

0
GWh Strom
0
GWh Fernwärme

regionale Energieversorgung

für

0
Haushalte
shutterstock 511785337

Effizienzkriterien bei Erneuerbaren-Förderung

Effizienz ist der wichtigste Schlüssel zur Energielösung, egal ob es um den Verbrauch, die Produktion oder die Förderung von Energie geht. Die Neuregelung der Ökostromförderung wurde in den letzten Jahren heftig diskutiert. Nun ist für Herbst 2020 ein EU-konformes Erneuerbaren-Ausbau-Gesetz zu erwarten. Bei möglichst großer Marktnähe und Systemverantwortung muss sichergestellt werden, dass jene Anlagen gefördert werden, die Ökostrom am günstigsten bei maximaler CO2-Einsparung erzeugen. Bei rohstoffabhängigen Anlagen ist dabei ein möglichst hoher Brennstoffnutzungsgrad wichtig, damit mit dem eingesetzten Rohstoff eine maximale Energieausbeute erzielt wird.

Grünes Gas als Alternative?

Erdgas spielt sowohl für die Wärme- und Stromversorgung industrieller Prozesse, genauso für Haushalte und Gewerbe eine zentrale Rolle. Als Alternative zu Erdgas wird „Grünes Gas“ (Biogas und grüner Wasserstoff) diskutiert. Ob ausreichend Rohstoffpotentiale dafür verfügbar sind, ist allerdings fraglich. Wichtig ist es daher, bereits im Vorfeld Fragen der Rohstoffverfügbarkeit und -logistik, technische Einsatzmöglichkeiten, Wirtschaftlichkeit und seine Finanzierung zu klären. Zur Zielerreichung der Grünen Gas-Anteile müssen auch bereits aktuell vorhandene Potentiale berücksichtigt werden, selbst wenn diese ohne Netzeinspeisung direkt verwendet werden. Die Papierindustrie wird jedenfalls sowohl als Gasverbraucher, aber auch als Biogasproduzent aus Rest- und Abfallstoffen, ein wichtiger Partner sein.

als auch

shutterstock 702924574
shutterstock 303371957

Faire Wettbewerbsbedingungen bei Energie-Nebenkosten

Unterschiedliche Rahmenbedingungen in einzelnen EU- Ländern verzerren den innergemeinschaftlichen Wettbewerb. Österreichische Unternehmen haben etwa einen klaren standortpolitischen Nachteil hinsichtlich Energienebenkosten. Allein in Deutschland erhalten Industriebetriebe energiepolitische Entlastungen aus unterschiedlichen Titeln. Dadurch entstehen den österreichischen Unternehmen Kostennachteile in Millionenhöhe, die wieder anderweitig ausgeglichen werden müssen. Verschärft wurde dieses Gefälle durch die Trennung der deutsch-österreichischen Strompreiszone im Oktober 2018. Es gilt hier die Wettbewerbsbedingungen innerhalb der EU zu harmonisieren.

 

BEST PRACTICE

Fernwärmerohrbau Sappi

PAPIERINDUSTRIE LIEFERT
FERNWÄRME AN HAUSHALTE IN DER REGION

Die Papierindustrie versorgt schon seit Jahren ihre nähere Umgebung mit Abwärme. Ein erfreuliches Großprojekt in diesem Zusammenhang ist die 11 km lange Fernwärmeleitung der Papierfabrik Sappi Gratkorn nach Graz. Durch das Projekt können 40.000 Haushalte in Graz mit Abwärme versorgt und insgesamt 50.000 Tonnen CO2 pro Jahr eingespart werden.

Ansprechpersonen

Energietechnik
Renate Kepplinger
renate.kepplinger@austropapier.at

Energiepolitik
Birgit Krista
birgit.krista@austropapier.at

Relevante Artikel