CLIMATE POLICY
Effective climate protection for a sustainable and competitive industry

The paper industry is committed to the climate goals and the exemplary role of Europe. Above all, post-crisis reconstruction must be climate-friendly and at the same time secure for the location. Measures to protect the climate and domestic industry need not be contradictory.

Facts

climate protection
  • The paper industry is committed to climate goals and decarbonisation.
  • It is subject to emissions trading and emitted 1.6 million tons of fossil CO2 in 2020.
  • Compared to 2000, it achieves an absolute CO2 reduction of 20%, even though 600,000 tons or 14% more paper is produced today than in 2000 (2019).
  • Overall, fossil CO2 emissions per ton of paper were improved by 30% compared to 2000.

The current climate targets for 2030 and the legally enshrined climate neutrality by 2050 are extremely ambitious by international standards. The Austrian government has committed itself to achieving the target ten years earlier, i.e. by 2040, which means that essential legislative matters and climate instruments must be revised and tightened up: for example, the European emissions trading system, measures in the field of non-ETS and directives on renewable energies and energy efficiency.

Paper industry invests in climate protection

The paper industry is committed to the climate goals and also actively contributes to CO2 reduction. It has already successfully decoupled its CO2 emissions from economic growth and reduced its fossil CO2 by 20% from 2000 to the present. Several mills have also announced investments in CO2 reduction measures for the coming years. These concern, for example, the development of innovative and sustainable products or the sustainable design of energy supply. For the paper industry, it is important to take advantage of the opportunities offered by decarbonization. Financial support for low-CO2 technologies where they achieve the greatest benefit at the lowest cost is essential for further and continuous improvement.

Reduction of absolute fossil CO2 emissions since 2000
20%
Reduction of fossil CO2 emissions per tonne of paper
40%
Increase in paper production since 1990
70%

Status 2019

shutter stock 789727018

Equal conditions for all

Europe can and should take a leading role in climate protection. This requires fair competitive conditions within Europe but also globally. Optional measures, such as those of indirect CO2 cost compensation, which allow individual countries to reimburse their emissions trading companies for CO2 costs, must be placed under a uniform framework. While many EU countries use this option for their industry, it is not granted in Austria, for example, which distorts intra-European competition and weakens Austria as a business location. For industry, it is essential that there is a broad level playing field. Companies that are subject to CO2 trading must not be burdened twice. As long as there are still different speeds in the global climate effort, effective carbon leakage protection provisions, such as the current free allocations in emissions trading, are an important prerequisite for companies. International consistency in climate policy is an important framework for achieving climate targets economically.

Climate change tariffs

In addition, the development of a carbon border adjustment mechanism is currently under intensive discussion in order to strengthen competitiveness vis-à-vis countries outside Europe. This would replace current measures, such as the free allocation of CO2 certificates, and at the same time prevent European companies from moving to other countries with lower CO2 standards. Any measure that amounts to a CO2 tax can only be an effective instrument at the European, or ideally even global, level. The design and security of such a mechanism will be essential. In any case, a large number of factors must be sufficiently assessed in advance to make clear the individual impact of a new measure on all sectors.

cepi study

Bind CO2 in wood-based products

Forests are important CO2 stores. When the wood is processed into products, the CO2 continues to be stored in them. The study "Climate effect of the forest-based sector in the European Union" has investigated the CO2 effect of forestry products and processes. The study by the European paper industry, together with partners along the entire wood value chain, concludes that the forest-based sector saves 806 million tons of CO2 every year. This corresponds to 20 percent of the EU's total CO2 emissions.

Best Practice

location lenzing 01(1)

STRONG COMMITMENT
LENZING GROUP COMMITS TO CO2 NEUTRALITY BY 2050

Lenzing will substantially reduce CO2 emissions in order to become climate neutral by 2050. Not only in existing production processes, but also in the construction of new pulp and lyocell plants, Lenzing is paying attention to low-CO2 energy sources and processes. A first milestone is 2030 - by then, emissions per ton of pulp and fiber produced will be reduced by 50% compared to 2017. The measures being taken are in line with the goals of the Paris Climate Agreement and are therefore recognized as "science based".

Relevant articles

KLIMAPOLITIK
Wirksamer Klimaschutz für eine nachhaltige und wettbewerbsfähige Industrie

Die Papierindustrie bekennt sich zu den Klimazielen und der Vorbildfunktion Europas. Allen voran muss der Wiederaufbau nach der Krise klimagerecht und gleichzeitig standortsicher gestaltet werden. Maßnahmen zum Schutz des Klimas und der heimischen Industrie müssen kein Widerspruch sein.

FAKTEN

klimaschutz

Die Papierindustrie bekennt sich zu den Klimazielen und zur Dekarbonisierung.

Sie unterliegt dem Emissionshandel und emittierte im Jahr 2019 1,7 Mio. Tonnen fossiles CO2.

Gegenüber 2000 erreicht sie 2019 eine absolute CO2-Reduktion um 20 %, obwohl heute um 600.000 Tonnen oder 14 % mehr Papier produziert wird als im Jahr 2000.

Die fossilen CO2-Emissionen je Tonne Papier konnten insgesamt um 30 % gegenüber 2000 verbessert werden.

Die geltenden Klimaziele für 2030 und die gesetzlich verankerte Klimaneutralität bis 2050 sind im internationalen Vergleich äußerst ambitioniert. Die österreichische Regierung hat sich dazu bekannt, das Ziel bereits zehn Jahre früher zu erreichen, also bis 2040. Wesentliche Gesetzesmaterien und Klimainstrumente müssen dadurch überarbeitet und verschärft werden: zum Beispiel das europäische Emissionshandelssystem, Maßnahmen im Bereich des Non-ETS und Richtlinien zu erneuerbaren Energien und Energieeffizienz.

Papierindustrie investiert in Klimaschutz

Die Papierindustrie bekennt sich zu den Klimazielen und trägt auch aktiv zur CO2-Reduktion bei. Sie hat bereits ihre CO2-Emissionen erfolgreich vom Wirtschaftswachstum entkoppelt und ihr fossiles CO2 von 2000 bis heute um 20 % gesenkt. Auch für die nächsten Jahre haben mehrere Fabriken Investitionen in CO2-Reduktionsmaßnahmen bekanntgegeben. Diese betreffen zum Beispiel die Entwicklung innovativer und nachhaltiger Produkte oder die nachhaltige Gestaltung der Energieversorgung. Für die Papierindustrie gilt es die Chancen, die die Dekarbonisierung bietet, zu nutzen. Wesentlich für weitere und stetige Verbesserung ist dabei die finanzielle Unterstützung von CO2-armen Technologien, dort wo sie unter den geringsten Kosten den größten Nutzen erzielen.

Reduktion der absoluten fossilen CO2 Emissionen seit 2000
20%
Reduktion der fossilen CO2-Emissionen pro Tonne Papier
40%
Steigerung der Papierproduktion seit 1990
70%
shutterstock 789727018

Gleiche Bedingungen für alle

Europa kann und soll eine Führungsrolle beim Klimaschutz einnehmen. Dafür braucht es faire Wettbewerbsbedingungen innerhalb Europas aber auch global. Optionale Maßnahmen, wie jene der indirekte CO2-Kostenkompensation, die es einzelnen Ländern erlauben, ihren Emissionshandelsunternehmen die CO2-Kosten rückzuerstatten, müssen unten einheitliche Rahmenbedingungen gestellt werden. Während viele EU-Staaten diese Möglichkeit für ihre Industrie nutzen, wird sie etwa in Österreich nicht gewährt, was den innereuropäischen Wettbewerb verzerrt und den Standort Österreich schwächt. Für die Industrie ist es unabdingbar, dass ein breites Level-Playing-Field herrscht. Betriebe, die dem CO2– Handel unterliegen, dürfen nicht doppelt belastet werden. Solange es noch unterschiedliche Geschwindigkeiten im weltweiten Klimabemühen gibt, sind wirksame Carbon Leakage-Schutzbestimmungen, wie derzeit die Gratiszuteilungen im Emissionshandel, eine wichtige Voraussetzung für die Unternehmen. Ein internationaler Gleichklang in der Klimapolitik ist ein wichtiger Rahmen, um Klimaziele wirtschaftlich zu schaffen.

Klimazölle

Aktuell in intensiver Diskussion ist außerdem die Entwicklung eines Carbon Border Adjustment Mechanismus, um die Wettbewerbsfähigkeit gegenüber Ländern außerhalb Europas zu stärken. Dieser soll zum einen aktuelle Maßnahmen, wie die Gratiszuteilung von CO2-Zertifikaten, ersetzen und gleichzeitig europäische Unternehmen davon abhalten, in andere Länder mit niedrigeren CO2-Standards abzuwandern. Jegliche Maßnahme, die einer CO2-Steuer gleichkommt, kann nur auf europäischer, idealerweise aber sogar globaler Ebene ein wirksames Instrument sein. Wesentlich werden die Ausgestaltung und Sicherheit eines solchen Mechanismus sein. Im Vorfeld ist in jedem Fall eine Vielzahl von Faktoren ausreichend zu bewerten, um die individuellen Auswirkungen einer neuen Maßnahme auf alle Branchen deutlich zu machen.

Zellstoff Pöls
cepi studie

CO2 in holzbasierten Produkten binden

Wälder sind wichtige CO2– Speicher. Wird das Holz zu Produkten verarbeitet, bleibt das CO2 weiterhin in diesen gespeichert. Die Studie “Climate effect of the forest-based sector in the European Union“ hat untersucht, welchen CO2-Effekt Produkte und Prozesse der Forstwirtschaft haben. Die Studie der Europäischen Papierindustrie, gemeinsam mit Partnern entlang der gesamten Wertschöpfungskette Holz, kommt zum Schluss, dass der forstbasierte Sektor jedes Jahr 806 Mio. Tonnen an CO2 einspart. Das entspricht 20 Prozent der gesamten CO2-Emissionen der EU.

BEST PRACTICE

location lenzing 01(1)

STARKES COMMITTMENT
LENZING GRUPPE BEKENNT SICH ZUR CO2-NEUTRALITÄT BIS 2050

Lenzing wird die CO2-Emissionen substantiell reduzieren, um bis 2050 klimaneutral zu werden. Nicht nur bei bestehenden Produktionsprozessen, sondern auch beim Bau neuer Zellstoff- und Lyocell-Anlagen achtet Lenzing auf CO2-arme Energiequellen und Verfahren. Ein erster Meilensteil ist 2030 – bis dahin werden die Emissionen pro Tonne produziertem Zellstoff und Fasern um 50 % im Vergleich zu 2017 gesenkt. Die Maßnahmen, die gesetzt werden, entsprechen den Zielen des Pariser Klimaabkommens und werden deswegen als „science based“ anerkannt.

Ansprechperson

Dipl.-Ing. Kathrin Höfferer
kathrin.hoefferer@austropapier.at

Relevante Artikel