OLD PAPER
Valuable and sustainable raw material for high-quality products

Waste paper is a sustainable and sought-after raw material for high-quality paper products. Austria is one of the countries with the highest rates of waste paper collection. Nevertheless, the demand for waste paper exceeds the supply at home.

FACTS

waste paper

The Austrian paper industry processed 2.6 million tonnes of recovered paper annually. (2020)

In 2020, Austrians collected 1.3 million tonnes of waste paper.

Because more waste paper is processed than collected, waste paper has to be imported. The import share was 60 % in 2020.

With a recycling rate of 77.6%, Austria is one of the world's top performers.

Besides pulp (wood fibres or "primary fibres"), waste paper ("secondary fibres") is the second major source of raw material for paper production. The collection of used paper products has been established in Austria for decades and thrives on a high collection morale and well-functioning collection systems. Recycling and reuse then takes place in the paper mills, which dissolve the waste paper, remove impurities and excessively short fibres and process the recovered material into new paper. Rejects, sludges and other residual materials that arise during the processing are used to produce energy.

Recycling at the highest level

Almost 58.7 million tonnes of paper are collected and recycled in Europe. This corresponds to a recycling rate of 72% (2019). In Austria, around 1.5 million tonnes of waste paper are collected each year, which corresponds to a recycling rate of 77.6% (2019). The industry uses a total of 2.6 million tonnes of waste paper for the production of new paper products, which is considerably more than can be collected domestically. A large quantity must therefore be imported, namely 1.5 million tonnes. On the other hand, trading companies export 300,000 tonnes of recovered paper. An increase in the recycling rate to over 80 % is hardly possible any more for reasons of technical feasibility. The limiting fractions in paper recycling are mainly heavily soiled or coated papers, such as hygiene products, greasy paper or wallpaper, and of course also products made of paper that are stored for a long time, such as books or important documents.

Waste paper Tonne
shutter stock 766749757

EU targets already achieved

With its circular economy package, the EU has set legally binding recycling quotas for packaging throughout Europe. These are 75% by 2025 and 85% by 2030 for paper and cardboard packaging. The pan-European recycling rate for paper and folding box packaging has already reached a new record level of 85.5% this year. This means that the European target for paper and cardboard has already been reached. In Austria, the recycling rate in 2019, which, however, refers to the total amount of waste paper collected (i.e. not only packaging but also print products etc.), is already at 77.6 %.

BEST PRACTICE

42 stationery c nalfons (2)

LENZING PAPIER PRODUCES
HIGH QUALITY WRITING PAPERS BASED ON RECYCLED PAPER

Lenzing Papier has established itself as a leading manufacturer of high-quality writing papers, such as exercise books or copy paper, made from recycled fibers from waste paper. The paper products carry all known environmental labels and have received excellent ratings from the WWF within the framework of "check your paper".

Relevant articles

ALTPAPIER
Wertvoller und nachhaltiger Rohstoff für hochwertige Produkte

Altpapier ist ein nachhaltiger und begehrter Rohstoff für hochwertige Papierprodukte. Österreich gehört zu den Ländern mit den höchsten Altpapier-Sammelquoten. Trotzdem übersteigt der Altpapierbedarf das Angebot im Inland.

FAKTEN

altpapier

Die österreichische Papierindustrie verarbeitete jährlich 2,6 Millionen Tonnen Altpapier. (2019)

2019 haben die Österreicher 1,4 Mio. Tonnen Altpapier gesammelt.

Weil mehr Altpapier verarbeitet als gesammelt wird, muss Altpapier importiert werden. Der Importanteil lag 2019 bei 57 %.

Mit einer Recyclingquote von 77,6 % gehört Österreich weltweit zu den Spitzenreitern.

Neben Zellstoff (Holzfasern oder „Primärfasern“) ist Altpapier („Sekundärfasern“) die zweite große Rohstoffquelle für die Papierherstellung. Die Sammlung von gebrauchten Papierprodukten ist in Österreich seit Jahrzehnten etabliert und lebt von einer hohen Sammelmoral und gut funktionierenden Sammelsystemen. Das Recycling und die Wiederverwertung findet dann in den Papierfabriken statt, die das Altpapier auflösen, Störstoffe und zu kurze Fasern ausscheiden und den gewonnenen Stoff zu neuem Papier verarbeiten. Rejekte, Schlämme und andere Reststoffe, die bei der Aufbereitung anfallen, werden energetisch verwertet.

Recycling auf höchstem Niveau

In Europa werden fast 58,7 Millionen Tonnen Papier gesammelt und wiederverwertet. Das entspricht einer Recyclingquote von 72 % (2019). In Österreich werden pro Jahr rund 1,5 Millionen Tonnen Altpapier gesammelt, das entspricht einer Recyclingrate von zuletzt 77,6 % (2019). Insgesamt 2,6 Millionen Tonnen Altpapier setzt die Branche für die Produktion neuer Papierprodukte ein; also wesentlich mehr, als im Inland gesammelt werden kann. Deswegen muss eine große Menge importiert werden, nämlich 1,5  Millionen Tonnen. Auf der anderen Seite exportieren Handelsfirmen 300.000 Tonnen Altpapier. Eine Steigerung der Recyclingrate auf über 80 % ist aus Gründen der technischen Machbarkeit kaum mehr möglich. Die limitierenden Fraktionen beim Papierrecycling sind vor allem stark verschmutzte oder beschichtete Papiere, wie Hygieneprodukte, Fettpapier oder Tapeten, und natürlich auch Produkte aus Papier, die lange aufbewahrt werden, wie Bücher oder wichtige Dokumente.

Altpapier Tonne
shutterstock 766749757

EU-Ziele bereits erreicht

Mit ihrem Kreislaufwirtschaftspaket hat die EU europaweit rechtsverbindliche Recyclingquoten für Verpackungen vorgegeben. Diese liegen für Verpackungen aus Papier und Pappe bei 75 % bis 2025 und 85 % bis 2030. Die gesamteuropäische Recyclingquote für Papier- und Faltschachtelverpackungen liegt heuer bereits beim neuen Rekordwert von 85,5 %. Damit wurde das europäische Ziel für Papier und Pappe bereits erfüllt. In Österreich liegt die Recyclingquote im Jahr 2019, die sich jedoch auf die gesamte gesammelte Altpapiermenge (also nicht nur Verpackungen, sondern auch Printprodukte etc.) bezieht, bereits bei 77,6 %.

BEST PRACTICE

42 schreibwaren c nalfons (2)

LENZING PAPIER PRODUZIERT
HOCHWERTIGE SCHREIBPAPIERE AUF ALTPAPIER-BASIS

Lenzing Papier hat sich als führender Hersteller von hochwertigen Schreibpapieren, wie etwa Schulheften oder Kopierpapier, aus recycelten Fasern aus Altpapier etabliert. Die Papierprodukte führen alle bekannten Umweltzeichen und wurden vom WWF im Rahmen von “check your paper” bestens bewertet.

Relevante Artikel