The longest paper tree chain in the world

header small

There had to be at least 5,000 of them to create the longest paper tree chain in the world. In the end, it became more than 18,000. With the project "PAPE[R]ECORD", the primary school Gratkorn 1 and the team of "Papier macht Schule" have exceeded their world record goal by a factor of 3.6. And that is not only a great success for the participants, but also a benefit for the environment. For every 50 paper trees submitted, a real tree is planted. A new climate-friendly forest is created.

The idea for PAPE[R]ECORD was born in June 2020. Under the motto "Now more than ever!", the Styrian school approached the "Papier macht Schule" team with the goal of setting a world record. It was to be "The longest chain of paper trees". In other words, the longest chain of paper trees. The idea behind it: "Create something great together in Corona time and do something good - for the sense of community and the environment," says primary school teacher Patrick Treml from the world record organisers. "Paper is increasingly replacing ecologically harmful materials such as plastic - whether for carrier bags, cosmetic tubes or other packaging. Meanwhile, even beer bottles are made of paper or cardboard."

YouTube

By uploading the video you accept the YouTube privacy policy.
Learn More

Load video

Participants from 26 countries

Initially, 5,000 paper trees - and thus 100 real trees - were planned. However, worldwide participation in the project quickly shot far beyond the original target. "However, the more than 18,000 paper trees submitted from 26 countries exceeded all our expectations. In hundreds of hours, volunteers sorted, reworked, threaded and hung the paper trees. We would like to express our sincere thanks for this great achievement!" Austropapier President Kurt Maier is delighted about the world record. On 17 May, an official jury inspected and measured the record attempt and confirmed that the chain with exactly 18,100 paper trees will be registered with "Guinness World of Records".

Climate-smart forest with 376 trees

The aim of the project was not only to achieve a world record, but even more to make a positive contribution to a good climate. For every 50 paper trees submitted, at least one real tree will be planted by the pupils of Gratkorn 1 primary school in autumn 2021. In the future, 376 trees in a climate-friendly world record forest in the north of Graz will ensure a good climate and clean air.

The total of 18,800 paper trees (700 more were received as paper trees than met the Guinness criteria) can now be viewed at the Kulturhaus Gratkorn from 17 to 21 May between 12:00 and 16:00 each day.

Further inquiries

Julia Löwenstein
Austropapier Public Relations
Tel: +43 650 6201079
Mail: julia.loewenstein@austropapier.at

Relevant articles

shutter stock 1135769117
News

KV-final paper industry

As of May 1, 2021, actual wages and salaries, as well as CT wages and minimum salaries, will be increased by 2.0 percent.

MORE "

Gumpendorfer Strasse 6
1060 Vienna

Phone: +43 (0)1 - 588 86 - 0
Fax: +43 (0)1 - 588 86 - 222
E-mail: austropapier@austropapier.at

NEWSLETTER
REGISTRATION

THEY FOLLOW US

MEMBERS AREA

LOGIN STATISTICS INPUT

Copyright © 2021 Austropapier - Association of the Austrian Paper Industry
together with the Austrian Association of the Paper Industry

Die längste Papierbaum-Kette der Welt

header klein

5.000 Stück mussten es mindestens sein, um die längste Papierbaumkette der Welt zu erschaffen. Mehr als 18.000 sind es schließlich geworden. Die Volksschule Gratkorn 1 und das Team von „Papier macht Schule“ haben mit dem Projekt „PAPE[R]ECORD“ ihr Weltrekordziel um das 3,6-Fache übertroffen. Und das ist nicht nur ein großer Erfolg für die Teilnehmer*innen sondern auch ein Gewinn für die Umwelt. Denn für je 50 eingereichte Papierbäume wird auch ein echter Baum gepflanzt. Ein neuer klimafitter Wald entsteht.

Die Idee zu PAPE[R]ECORD entstand im Juni 2020. Unter dem Motto „Jetzt erst recht!“ hatte sich die steirische Schule mit dem Ziel an das „Papier macht Schule“-Team gewandt, einen Weltrekord aufzustellen. „The longest chain of paper trees“ sollte es sein. Also die längste Kette aus Papierbäumen. Der Gedanke dahinter: „In der Corona-Zeit gemeinsam Großes schaffen und etwas Gutes tun – für das Gemeinschaftsgefühl und die Umwelt,“ sagt Volksschullehrer Patrick Treml von den Weltrekord-Organisatoren. „Denn Papier ersetzt immer öfter ökologisch bedenkliche Materialien wie Plastik – egal ob bei Tragtaschen, Kosmetiktuben oder anderen Verpackungen. Mittlerweile werden sogar Bierflaschen aus Papier oder Karton hergestellt.“

YouTube

Mit dem Laden des Videos akzeptieren Sie die Datenschutzerklärung von YouTube.
Mehr erfahren

Video laden

Teilnehmer aus 26 Staaten

Zunächst waren 5.000 Papierbäume – und damit 100 echte Bäume – geplant.  Die weltweite Teilnahme am Projekt schoss aber rasch weit über das ursprüngliche Ziel hinaus. „Die über 18.000 eingereichten Papierbäume aus 26 Ländern übertrafen jedoch alle unsere Erwartungen. In hunderten Stunden haben freiwillige Helferinnen und Helfer die Papierbäume sortiert, nachbearbeitet, gefädelt und aufgehängt. Für diese großartige Leistung bedanken wir uns sehr herzlich!“ freut sich Austropapier-Präsident Kurt Maier über den Weltrekord. Am 17. Mai hat eine offizielle Jury den Rekordversuch kontrolliert und vermessen und bestätigt, dass die Kette mit genau 18.100 Papierbäumen bei „Guinness World of Records“ eingetragen wird.

Klimafitter Wald mit 376 Bäumen

Ziel des Projekts war nicht nur das Erreichen eines Weltrekords, sondern noch mehr der positive Beitrag zu einem guten Klima. Denn pro 50 eingereichten Papierbäumen wird von den Schülerinnen und Schülern der Volksschule Gratkorn 1 im Herbst 2021 zumindest ein echter Baum gepflanzt. Somit sorgen in Zukunft 376 Bäume in einem klimafitten Weltrekord-Wald im Norden von Graz für gutes Klima und saubere Luft.

Die insgesamt 18.800 Papierbäume (es sind noch 700 mehr als Papierbäume eingegangen, als den Guinness-Kriterien entsprachen) können nun vom 17. bis 21. Mai jeweils zwischen 12:00 und 16:00 Uhr im Kulturhaus Gratkorn besichtigt werden.

Rückfragen

Julia Löwenstein
Austropapier Öffentlichkeitsarbeit
Tel: +43 650 6201079
Mail: julia.loewenstein@austropapier.at

Relevante Artikel

Gumpendorfer Straße 6
1060 Wien

Telefon:  +43 (0)1 – 588 86 – 0
Fax:         +43 (0)1 – 588 86 – 222
E-Mail:    austropapier@austropapier.at

NEWSLETTER
ANMELDUNG

FOLGEN SIE UNS AUF

MITGLIEDER-BEREICH

LOGIN STATISTIK-EINGABE

Copyright © 2021 Austropapier – Vereinigung der Österreichischen Papierindustrie
gemeinsam mit dem Fachverband der Papierindustrie