shutterstock 652658665


Annual Report

The big topic of the year was the global pandemic and the impact that the Corona virus is still having on us all today. This raised a whole series of questions, medical ones first of course: What are the characteristics of Covid19 ? What do I have to do to avoid catching it? What help can quarantine, hospitals and vaccinations offer? An important legal issue was this: How many restrictions on fundamental rights are proportionate to keep the population healthy. Politicians were confronted with this: How do federal structures in Austria and at the EU level have to function in order to effectively contain the pandemic. And last but not least, the economic future was at stake: which reimbursements and subsidies would keep unemployment low and preserve economic structures in such a way that the economy could be restarted immediately after the pandemic. At the same time, in the course of the extensive public discussion, it was repeatedly asked how we can use the situation and the additional budgets to get closer to the continuing, parallel goals of digitalisation and climate protection.

Pandemic brings economic slump

After a peak in 2017/18, the economy began to slow in 2019/20. However, the impact of this was eclipsed by pandemic containment constraints from March 2020. With the first Covid19 cases, a wave of infections occurred in the spring. Following a national lockdown, incidences remained low during the summer, but a second, stronger wave occurred in the autumn, which was again met with a public shutdown. A third wave developed in March 2021, just before widespread vaccination programs began in Austria and around the world. Economically, the service sector with tourism, gastronomy, culture and trade was particularly affected. The ongoing restrictions and closures in Austria led to a GDP development of -7.3 percent, slightly better than the European average. For 2021, experts expect a rebound effect and growth of over four percent. Unemployment rose by one percentage point to 5.4 in the course of the year, which was only possible due to very expenditure-intensive measures by the federal government. For employment, the focus was on the short-time work schemes, which were extended several times. By the end of the year, the budget deficit amounted to -10.1 per cent, which led to an increase in the public debt ratio from 71 to 84 per cent.

Paper industry also loses internationally

2006 remains the record year for the Austrian paper industry with its 5.2 million tonnes of production. In 2020, the volume of paper fell by 5.3 per cent to reach around 4.7 million tonnes. The weaker result was caused less by the quarantine measures in the mills than by the market and the demand gap, especially for print media. Machine utilization was down to 84 percent. Capacity, meanwhile, had hardly changed, and the shutdown of KM 4 in Hirschwang did not take place until the end of the year. The graphic arts sector declined sharply, by 13.5 percent to 2.0 million tons.

Growth for packaging papers, on the other hand, continued,
this time by 2.0 percent to 2.4 million tonnes. The sector
Specialty Papers also lost slightly and ended up at around 305,000 tonnes. For the small country of Austria, such production volumes are only possible thanks to a very high export ratio, which was 86.6 percent in 2018. Cost management, quality and customer orientation have a high priority. On the production side, the Austrian paper industry developed in line with the European average, which was -5.0 percent. The 85 million tons of paper produced in Europe represent a significant decline compared to the 102 million tons produced in the record year of 2007. In these quantities, the sectors are roughly weighted with 30 percent graphic, 60 percent packaging and 10 percent specialty paper. The decline in graphic grades hits European wholesalers particularly hard: they do most of their business with publication papers.

No growth in print media

Due to the change in living conditions in the lockdown, the use of paper products changed significantly. Overall, paper consumption in Austria fell by 4.0 percent to 1.9 million tons. Even though the need for quality media was high during the pandemic, other print segments declined. Examples would be menus in the gastronomy sector, advertising for events, travel catalogues or the magazine circulation at the hairdresser. In addition, competition from electronic media, which are ideal for the rapid consumption of information, is continuing in the case of publication papers. The increase in consumer goods, smaller pack sizes in the food sector and the currently booming mail order business are contributing to a positive development in the consumption of packaging papers. A growth market within the specialties is hygiene papers, which continue to have a good consumption forecast.

Timber availability remains important

In Europe, 37 million tonnes of pulp and mechanical pulp were produced, 2.8 percent less than in 2019. In Austria, the volume trend for virgin pulp was also weak, with production falling by 3.3 percent to 2.0 million tonnes. At the same time, demand for the raw material wood decreased by 1.3 percent to 8.6 million solid cubic meters. It was possible to obtain most of the required volume from domestic sources, with an import ratio of 23.7 percent. Imports from regions close to the border, such as Slovenia, Bavaria or southern Bohemia, are particularly relevant here. Further reasons for imports can be the offers of special assortments, or simply the quantitative availability in the domestic market. Due to the ÖSG-supported burning of biomass, the demand for wood has increased strongly in the last 15 years. However, logging in Austria has not exceeded 20 million solid cubic metres for years, with additional volumes only arising from storm or beetle damage. In the medium term, pulp production in Austria will continue to increase, as there are plans to expand capacity at sites such as Pöls, Lenzing, Hallein or Gratkorn. In order to secure the wood supply mainly from domestic wood also in the future, the industry cooperates closely with the domestic forestry industry. This is done particularly intensively when large quantities of wood are to be removed and stored after extensive damage events. For the discussion of the climate strategy, the paper industry brings in arguments such as efficiency, independence from raw materials and investment instead of tariff subsidies:CO2 should be saved as best as possible, taking subsidy costs into account.

The second important raw material is recovered paper - with around 2.6 million tonnes used in 2020. A good part of the secondary fibres comes from domestic collection, but the larger part from imports. Recycling in Austria works well in principle, even though the return rate of 68.6 percent achieved in 2020 fell sharply due to business closures and the unclear market situation in the middle of the year. As the economy recovers, however, collection is expected to move back toward 80 percent. This is also about the limit of technical feasibility. After all, some used or soiled paper products are not supposed to return to the cycle at all.

18 pulp producton
20 waste paper prices

Energy as an important by-product

In order to increase competitiveness, several companies in the paper sector are moving into more attractive markets and niches. To this end, they are developing paper grades with new properties for special applications, especially in the technical and packaging sectors. For pulp mills, dissolving pulp, from which textile yarns are produced, is an alternative way of adding value. Biorefineries are developing further ways to make better use of the wood components cellulose and lignin and to make higher-value fibre products, chemicals and fuels, especially bioethanol, from them. In particular, mills that have pulp liquor or biosolids available improve their sales when they feed in electricity or extract district heat for nearby communities, most recently to the tune of about 30 million euros. The future use of free waste heat potential and easier access to the market for congestion management in the grid would be further contributions to achieving the climate targets.

Falling average revenues

2020, average revenues for a ton of paper fell to below 650 euros by the end of the year. In this economically weak situation, however, some items in the preliminary costs also went down. What pulp mills pay for wood is made up of the cost of the wood and the transport costs. The level for a solid cubic meter of wood free to mill was below 60 euros in 2020. The price for the pre-product pulp fell noticeably to only 800 dollars per tonne of the reference grade Scandinavian kraft pulp (NBSK), but picked up again towards 1,000 dollars at the beginning of 2021. The exchange rate to the dollar also affects the purchase cost of short fiber pulp (BEK) from Latin America, but it has remained relatively stable over the past five years. Recovered paper is the second important raw material in the industry. Due to market uncertainties in the first lockdown, the average price sagged sharply in Q2 2020, but then returned to its pre-pandemic level of over €100. In principle, however, the market remains tight: On the one hand, collection is becoming more difficult as paper consumption declines; on the other hand, demand for recovered paper in the packaging sector is increasing significantly. International trade in the raw material continues to be influenced by an Asian import ban on certain grades of recovered paper. A critical factor for mills is energy costs. In particular, ancillary costs such as grid fees, taxes,CO2 costs and green electricity subsidies have a negative impact. In contrast to other countries, where there are relief measures for energy-intensive companies, Austrian companies are at a clear competitive disadvantage here. And this is exacerbated if policymakers are unable to set stable framework conditions for long-term business planning. Additional costs arose from 2018 due to the separation of the joint German-Austrian electricity price zone. With a declining number of employees, total wages and salaries amounted to less than 480 million euros, a decrease of 0.9 percent. One problem frequently mentioned by companies is bureaucracy: businesses have to spend more and more time and effort to keep all the required documents and evidence.

19 ds revenue f paper
21 pulp prices

Solid results in the crisis

Sales in the industry developed unpleasantly, falling by 14.2 percent to 3.6 billion euros - a minus that can be explained by lower volumes, but also by significantly lower sales prices for pulp and paper. Nevertheless, the consistent cost management of the paper mills helped in many cases to keep the results positive. The strong crisis performance of the paper companies operating in Austria is also due to a solid equity ratio of almost 50 percent - ten points above the industry as a whole.

19 sales

Investing in CO2 reduction

Investments were down in 2020 at just under € 190 million. The largest completed project was the construction of the new energy plant in Nettingsdorf. However, the industry continues to invest and has planned and started several projects for 2021, which are expected to have a volume of around 300 million euros by the end of the year. Included on the list are two energy projects in Gratkorn and Bruck, which will reduce fossilCO2 emissions, two expansions of pulp production in Pöls and Hallein, as well as the comprehensive optimization of KM 3 in Frohnleiten. However, with European paper demand developing weakly since 2010, overcapacities are emerging in some sectors. In the last ten years, for example, almost half of the production capacity in the graphics sector in Europe has been shut down, but the packaging sector has been expanded at the same time. Specifically for 2020, this means: shutting down three million tonnes of production capacity and at the same time building new plants for two million tonnes, mainly in the packaging sector.

China continues to invest

Global paper production stood at around 410 million tonnes in 2019, with the paper regions that had been strong in the past - North America, Western Europe and the Far East with Japan and Korea - showing signs of weakening. Even if the production volume of the Chinese paper industry increased only slightly in 2019 and 2020, this should not obscure the fact that the planned economy-controlled system has continued to invest even during the crisis. New capacities of several million tons per year are now ready and will supply the paper market in the recovery.

The country already produces more than 110 million tonnes of paper per year. The companies there mainly supply the domestic market, but also ship large quantities of graphic paper to overseas markets. The domestic focus is on packaging paper, which the Chinese export industry needs to transport its goods. Five of the top 20 global companies are based in China. The top five globally are International Paper (US), Nine Dragons (China), WestRock (US), Oji (Japan) and DS Smith (UK). This year, Mayr-Melnhof has risen to the top of the list, increasing its total capacity to well over two million tons of cartonboard through the acquisition of the integrated mills of Kottkamills (Southern Finland) and Kwidzin (Northern Poland).

Following progress in global free trade, protectionist measures have recently been on the rise - including for wood, paper and recovered paper. For the EU, effective trade policy instruments, such as anti-dumping procedures, remain important. The UK consumes around seven million tonnes of paper and has to import half of it. Consequently, the European and British paper industries had expressed scepticism about Brexit, as the now completed exit will lead to noticeable delays in the value chain. Quarantines for truck drivers and border closures, as ordered at the beginning of the pandemic, on the other hand, hardly hinder the international movement of goods.

international

High attention for environmental issues

For the next 15 years, Pöyry Consulting has forecast global growth of 1.1 percent annually in paper consumption. The reasons for this are an increase in population, increasing urbanization and a growing middle class, especially in the large markets of China and India. However, in the developed economies of Europe, North America and Japan, the market is predicted to shrink at minus 0.8 percent per year. Here, manufacturers must expect to fight for lower unit costs in a crowded-out market with excess capacity. This applies both to the companies themselves and to the locations within a group. In such a situation, it is helpful to score additional points with the customer with excellent quality and convincing sustainability. At the same time, opportunities will arise for those companies that differentiate themselves from others by specializing in new paper applications. For example, many companies in Austria are currently working on new types of coatings for food packaging and other applications. This not only broadens the spectrum of possibilities, but also helps to reduce the amount of plastic in circulation. Additional potential for the industry lies in supplementing paper production with new products from biorefineries. It is well suited for this because it can handle large-scale plants and has a lot of experience in processing biomass with added value. The first steps in this direction have already been taken. There are already companies that generate high-quality chemicals or fuels from the by-products of wood, from lignin and hemicellulose. Numerous research projects are underway in the companies.

For the time being, however, the number one environmental issue remains climate protection and all measures that contribute to lowerCO2 emissions. The paper industry is well positioned in this respect because it manufactures products that store carbon and uses raw materials that are renewable and easy to recycle. Mills are making steady progress in energy efficiency. The industry has a very high bio content in its fuel supply and a roadmap to complete decarbonisation by 2050.

shutterstock 652658665


Jahresbericht

Das große Thema des Jahres war die globale Pandemie und die Auswirkung, die der Corona-Virus bis heute auf uns alle hat. Das warf eine ganze Reihe von Fragen auf, zuerst natürlich medizinische: Von welcher Charakteristik ist Covid19 ? Was muss ich tun, damit ich mich nicht anstecke? Welche Hilfe können Quarantäne, Krankenhäuser und Impfungen bieten? Ein wichtiges juristisches Thema war dieses: Wie viele Einschränkungen der Grundrechte sind verhältnismäßig, um die Bevölkerung gesund zu halten. Die Politik war damit konfrontiert: Wie müssen föderale Strukturen in Österreich und auf EU-Ebene funktionieren, um die Pandemie effektiv einzudämmen. Und nicht zuletzt ging es um die ökonomische Zukunft: Mit welchen Erstattungen und Förderungen hält man die Arbeitslosigkeit niedrig und bewahrt die wirtschaftlichen Strukturen so, dass die Wirtschaft gleich nach der Pandemie wieder hochgefahren werden kann. Im Zuge der ausführlichen öffentlichen Diskussion wurde gleichzeitig immer wieder gefragt, wie wir die Situation und die zusätzlichen Budgets nutzen können, um den weiter bestehenden, parallelen Zielen von Digitalisierung und Klimaschutz näher zu kommen.

Pandemie bringt Wirtschaftseinbruch

Nach einem Hoch in 2017/18 begann die Konjunktur 2019/20 abzuflauen. Die Auswirkungen dieser Entwicklung wurden aber ab März 2020 durch die Einschränkungen zur Eindämmung der Pandemie überlagert. Mit den ersten Covid19-Fällen kam es zu einer Infektionswelle im Frühjahr. Nach einem nationalen Lockdown blieben die Inzidenzen während des Sommers niedrig, doch im Herbst kam es zu einer zweiten, stärkeren Welle, die erneut mit dem Herunterfahren des öffentlichen Lebens beantwortet wurde. Eine dritte Welle entwickelte sich im März 2021, kurz bevor die breit angelegten Impf-Programme in Österreich und weltweit anliefen. Wirtschaftlich besonders betroffen war der Service-Sektor mit Tourismus, Gastronomie, Kultur und Handel. Die andauernden Beschränkungen und Schließungen in Österreich führten zu einer BIP-Entwicklung von -7,3 Prozent, etwas besser als der europäische Durchschnitt. Für 2021 erwarten Experten einen Rebound-Effekt und ein Wachstum von über vier Prozent. Die Arbeitslosigkeit stieg im Jahresverlauf um einen Prozentpunkt auf 5,4, was nur durch sehr ausgaben-intensive Maßnahmen der Bundesregierung möglich war. Für die Beschäftigung im Vordergrund standen dabei die mehrmals verlängerten Kurzarbeitsregelungen. Bis Jahresende belief sich das Budgetdefizit auf -10,1 Prozent, was zu einem Anstieg der Staatsschulden-Quote von 71 auf 84 Prozent führte.

Papierindustrie verliert auch international

2006 bleibt mit seinen 5,2 Millionen Tonnen Produktion das Rekordjahr der Österreichischen Papierindustrie. 2020 fiel die Papiermenge um 5,3 Prozent und erreichte damit rund 4,7 Millionen Tonnen. Das schwächere Ergebnis war weniger durch die Quarantänemaßnahmen in den Fabriken verursacht, als durch den Markt und das Nachfrageloch, besonders bei den Printmedien. Die Maschinenauslastung betrug nur noch 84 Prozent. Die Kapazität hatte sich derweil kaum geändert, die Stilllegung der KM 4 in Hirschwang erfolgte auch erst zu Jahresende. Der grafische Bereich ging stark zurück, um 13,5 Prozent auf 2,0 Millionen Tonnen.

Das Wachstum für Verpackungspapiere hingegen setze sich weiter fort,
diesmal um 2,0 Prozent auf 2,4 Millionen Tonnen. Auch der Sektor
Spezialpapiere verlor leicht und landete bei rund 305.000 Tonnen. Für das kleine Land Österreich sind solche Produktionsmengen nur durch eine sehr hohe Exportquote möglich, diese lag 2018 bei 86,6 Prozent. Kostenmanagement, Qualität und Kundenorientierung haben einen hohen Stellenwert. Auf der Produktionsseite entwickelte sich die Österreichische Papierindustrie im europäischen Mittel, das bei -5,0 Prozent lag. Die in Europa produzierten 85 Millionen Tonnen Papier bedeuten einen deutlichen Rückgang im Vergleich zu den 102 Millionen Tonnen des Rekordjahres 2007. In diesen Mengen sind die Sektoren ungefähr mit 30 Prozent grafischem, 60 Prozent Verpackungs- und 10 Prozent Spezialpapier gewichtet. Der Rückgang bei den grafischen Sorten trifft den europäischen Großhandel besonders: Er betreibt seine Geschäfte überwiegend mit Publikationspapieren.

Kein Wachstum bei Printmedien

Aufgrund der veränderten Lebensumstände im Lockdown änderte sich der Gebrauch von Papierprodukten erheblich. Insgesamt fiel der Papierverbrauch in Österreich um 4,0 Prozent auf 1,9 Millionen Tonnen. Auch wenn das Bedürfnis nach Qualitätsmedien in der Pandemie hoch war, so gingen andere Print-Sparten zurück. Beispiele wären Speisekarten im Gastro-Bereich, Werbung für Veranstaltungen, Reisekataloge oder die Magazin-Auflage beim Friseur. Darüber hinaus hält bei den Publikationspapieren die Konkurrenz durch elektronische Medien an, die sich für den schnellen Konsum von Informationen anbieten. Zu einer positiven Entwicklung im Verbrauch von Verpackungspapieren tragen die Zunahme von Konsumgütern, kleinere Packgrößen im Lebensmittelbereich und der zurzeit boomende Versandhandel bei. Ein Wachstumsmarkt innerhalb der Spezialitäten sind Hygienepapiere, die auch weiter eine gute Verbrauchsprognose haben.

Holzverfügbarkeit bleibt wichtig

In Europa wurden 37 Millionen Tonnen Zellstoff und Holzstoff hergestellt, um 2,8 Prozent weniger als 2019. In Österreich war die Mengenentwicklung beim Frischfaserstoff ebenfalls schwach, die Produktion fiel um 3,3 Prozent auf 2,0 Millionen Tonnen. Gleichzeitig nahm die Nachfrage nach dem Rohstoff Holz um 1,3 Prozent auf 8,6 Millionen Festmeter ab. Die benötigte Menge konnte zum Großteil aus dem Inland bezogen werden, die Importquote lag bei 23,7 Prozent. Hier ist insbesondere der Import aus grenznahen Regionen, wie etwa aus Slowenien, Bayern oder Südböhmen, relevant. Weitere Gründe für Importe können die Angebote von speziellen Sortimenten sein, oder einfach die mengenmäßige Verfügbarkeit im Inland. Durch die ÖSG-geförderte Verbrennung von Biomasse ist die Holznachfrage in den letzten 15 Jahren stark angestiegen. Der Holzeinschlag in Österreich kommt aber seit Jahren nicht über 20 Millionen Festmetern hinaus, zusätzliche Mengen fallen dabei nur durch Sturm- oder Käferschäden an. Mittelfristig wird die Zellstoff-Produktion in Österreich weiter steigen, denn an Standorten wie Pöls, Lenzing, Hallein oder Gratkorn gibt es Pläne zum Kapazitätsausbau. Um die Holzversorgung hauptsächlich aus inländischem Holz auch zukünftig sicherzustellen, arbeitet die Branche eng mit der heimischen Forstwirtschaft zusammen. Das geschieht besonders intensiv, wenn nach extensiven Schadereignissen große Mengen Holz abgenommen und eingelagert werden sollen. Zur Diskussion der Klimastrategie bringt die Papierindustrie Argumente wie Effizienz, Rohstoffunabhängigkeit und Investitions- statt Tarifförderung ein: CO2 soll unter Berücksichtigung von Förderkosten bestmöglich eingespart werden.

Der zweite wichtige Rohstoff ist Altpapier – 2020 mit rund 2,6 Millionen Tonnen Einsatz. Ein guter Teil der Sekundärfasern kommt aus inländischer Sammlung, der größere Teil jedoch aus Importen. Das Recycling in Österreich funktioniert prinzipiell gut, auch wenn die 2020 erzielte Rücklaufquote von 68,6 Prozent auf Grund der Geschäftsschließungen und der zur Jahresmitte unübersichtlichen Marktsituation stark zurückgefallen ist. Mit der Erholung der Wirtschaft soll die Sammlung jedoch wieder in Richtung 80 Prozent gehen. Das ist auch ungefähr die Grenze der technischen Machbarkeit. Einige gebrauchte oder verschmutzte Papierprodukte sollen ja gar nicht in den Kreislauf zurückkehren.

18 zellstoffprodukton
20 altpapier preise

Energie als wichtiges Nebenprodukt

Um die Wettbewerbsfähigkeit zu erhöhen, gehen mehrere Unternehmen im Papierbereich in attraktivere Märkte und in Nischen. Dazu entwickeln sie Papiersorten mit neuen Eigenschaften für spezielle Anwendungen besonders im technischen und im Verpackungsbereich. Für Zellstofffabriken ist Dissolving Pulp, aus dem Textilgarne hergestellt werden, eine alternative Möglichkeit zur Wertschöpfung. Die Bioraffinerie entwickelt weitere Möglichkeiten, um die Holz-Bestandteile Zellulose und Lignin besser zu nutzen und hochwertigere Faserprodukte, Chemikalien und Brennstoffe, speziell Bioethanol, daraus zu machen. Besonders Fabriken, die Zellstoff-Lauge oder Bioschlämme zur Verfügung haben, verbessern ihren Umsatz, wenn sie Strom einspeisen oder Fernwärme für nahegelegene Kommunen auskoppeln, zuletzt im Wert von rund 30 Millionen Euro. Die künftige Nutzung freier Abwärmepotentiale und ein erleichterter Zugang in den Markt für das Engpass-Management im Netz wären weitere Beiträge zur Erreichung der Klimaziele.

Fallende Durchschnittserlöse

2020 fielen die Durchschnittserlöse für eine Tonne Papier bis zum Jahresende auf unter 650 Euro. In dieser wirtschaftlich schwachen Situation gingen aber auch einige Positionen bei den Vorkosten nach unten. Was Zellstofffabriken für Holz bezahlen, setzt sich aus den Kosten für das Holz und den Transportkosten zusammen. Das Niveau für einen Festmeter Holz frei Werk lag 2020 bei unter 60 Euro. Der Preis für das Vorprodukt Zellstoff fiel spürbar auf nur noch 800 Dollar pro Tonne der Referenzsorte skandinavischer Kraftzellstoff (NBSK), zog zu Jahresbeginn 2021 aber wieder Richtung 1.000 Dollar an. Der Wechselkurs zum Dollar beeinflusst auch die Einkaufskosten für Kurzfaserzellstoff (BEK) aus Lateinamerika, in den letzten fünf Jahren ist er jedoch relativ stabil geblieben. Altpapier ist der zweite wichtige Rohstoff der Branche. Durch die Markt-Unsicherheiten im ersten Lockdown sackte der durchschnittliche Preis im 2.Quartal 2020 kräftig durch, kehrte danach aber auf sein Vorpandemie-Niveau von über 100 Euro zurück. Prinzipiell bleibt der Markt aber angespannt: Zum einen wird die Sammlung bei rückläufigem Papierverbrauch schwieriger, zum anderen steigt die Nachfrage nach Altpapier im Verpackungssektor deutlich. Der internationale Handel des Rohstoffs wird weiterhin durch einen asiatischen Importstopp gewisser Altpapiersorten beeinflusst. Ein kritischer Faktor für die Fabriken sind die Energiekosten. Hier wirken sich insbesondere die Nebenkosten wie Netzgebühren, Steuern, CO2-Kosten und Ökostromförderung negativ aus. Im Gegensatz zu anderen Ländern, wo es Entlastungen für energieintensive Betriebe gibt, haben österreichische Unternehmen hier einen klaren Wettbewerbsnachteil. Und dieser verstärkt sich, wenn die Politik keine stabilen Rahmenbedingungen für eine langfristige unternehmerische Planung setzen kann. Zusätzliche Kosten entstanden ab 2018 durch die Trennung der gemeinsamen deutsch-österreichischen Strompreiszone. Bei sinkender Mitarbeiterzahl betrug die Lohn- und Gehaltssumme unter 480 Millionen Euro, ein Rückgang um 0,9 Prozent. Ein von den Unternehmen häufig genanntes Problem ist die Bürokratie: Die Betriebe müssen immer mehr Zeit und Mühe aufwenden, um alle geforderten Unterlagen und Nachweise zu führen.

19 ds erlöse f papier
21 zellstoff preise

Solide Ergebnisse in der Krise

Der Umsatz der Branche entwickelte sich unerfreulich, er fiel um 14,2 Prozent auf 3,6 Milliarden Euro – ein Minus, das durch geringere Mengen, aber auch durch deutlich niedrigere Verkaufspreise bei Zellstoff und Papier erklärt werden kann. Das konsequente Kostenmanagement der Papierfabriken half in vielen Fällen dennoch, die Ergebnisse positiv zu halten. Die starke Krisen-Performance der in Österreich tätigen Papier-Unternehmen liegt aber auch an einer soliden Eigenkapitalquote von fast 50 Prozent– zehn Punkte über der Gesamtindustrie.

19 umsatz

In CO2-Reduktion investieren

Die Investitionen waren 2020 mit knapp 190 Millionen Euro rückläufig. Das größte abgeschlossene Projekt war dabei der Neubau der Energieanlage in Nettingsdorf. Die Branche investiert jedoch weiter und hat für 2021 mehrere Vorhaben geplant und begonnen, die bis Jahresende ein Volumen von rund 300 Millionen Euro ausmachen dürften. Mit auf der Liste sind zwei Energieprojekte in Gratkorn und Bruck, die fossile CO2-Emissionen reduzieren werden, zwei Ausbauten der Zellstoffproduktion in Pöls und Hallein sowie die umfassende Optimierung der KM 3 in Frohnleiten. Nachdem sich die europäische Papiernachfrage seit 2010 schwach entwickelt, ergeben sich aber in einigen Sektoren Überkapazitäten. So sind in den letzten zehn Jahren in Europa im grafischen Bereich fast die Hälfte der Produktionskapazität abgestellt, der Verpackungssektor jedoch gleichzeitig ausgebaut worden. Konkret für 2020 hieß das: Abstellung von drei Millionen Tonnen Produktionskapazität und gleichzeitig neue Anlagen für zwei Millionen Tonnen, hauptsächlich im Verpackungsbereich.

China investiert weiter

Die weltweite Papierproduktion stand 2019 bei rund 410 Millionen Tonnen, dabei zeigten sich die in der Vergangenheit starken Papierregionen Nordamerika, Westeuropa und Fernost mit Japan und Korea schwächer. Auch wenn die Produktionsmenge der chinesischen Papierindustrie 2019 und 2020 nur geringfügig anstieg, darf das nicht darüber hinwegtäuschen, dass das planwirtschaftlich gelenkte System auch in der Krise weiter investiert hat. Neue Kapazitäten von mehreren Millionen Jahrestonnen stehen nun bereit und werden den Papiermarkt im Wiederaufschwung versorgen.

Schon jetzt produziert das Land mehr als 110 Millionen Tonnen Papier pro Jahr. Die Unternehmen dort beliefern hauptsächlich den inländischen Markt, verschiffen aber auch große Mengen grafisches Papier in Überseemärkte. Der Schwerpunkt im Inland liegt auf Verpackungspapieren, die die chinesische Exportindustrie zum Transport ihrer Güter benötigt. Fünf der globalen Top-20-Unternehmen sind in China angesiedelt. Die fünf weltweit größten sind International Paper (USA), Nine Dragons (China), WestRock (USA), Oji (Japan) und DS Smith (England). Ein Aufsteiger in der Liste der Großen ist heuer Mayr-Melnhof, die durch die Zukäufe der integrierten Fabriken von Kottkamills (Südfinnland) und Kwidzin (Nordpolen) ihre Gesamtkapazität auf deutlich über zwei Millionen Tonnen Karton steigern konnten.

Nach den Fortschritten im weltweiten Freihandel kommt es in jüngster Zeit immer mehr zu protektionistischen Maßnahmen – auch bei Holz, Papier und Altpapier. Für die EU bleiben wirksame handelspolitische Instrumente, wie etwa Antidumping-Verfahren, auch weiterhin wichtig. Großbritannien verbraucht rund sieben Millionen Tonnen Papier und muss die Hälfte davon importieren. Folglich hatten sich die die europäische und die britische Papierindustrie skeptisch zum Brexit geäußert, denn der nun vollzogene Austritt führt zu spürbaren Verzögerungen in der Wertschöpfungskette. Quarantänen für Lkw-Fahrer und Grenzschließung, wie zu Beginn der Pandemie angeordnet, behindern den internationalen Warenverkehr hingegen kaum noch.

international

Hohe Aufmerksamkeit für Umweltthemen

Für die nächsten 15 Jahre hat Pöyry Consulting ein globales Wachstum von jährlich 1,1 Prozent im Papierverbrauch prognostiziert. Gründe dafür sind ein Bevölkerungsplus, zunehmende Urbanisierung und eine wachsende Mittelschicht, besonders in den großen Märkten China und Indien. Für die entwickelten Volkswirtschaften in Europa, Nordamerika und Japan wird jedoch ein mit minus 0,8 Prozent pro Jahr schrumpfender Markt vorhergesagt. Hier müssen die Hersteller damit rechnen, auf einem Verdrängungsmarkt mit Überkapazitäten um niedrigere Stückkosten zu kämpfen. Dies gilt sowohl für die Unternehmen untereinander als auch für die Standorte innerhalb eines Konzerns. In so einer Situation ist es hilfreich, beim Kunden zusätzlich mit exzellenter Qualität und mit überzeugender Nachhaltigkeit zu punkten. Gleichzeitig werden sich für jene Unternehmen Chancen ergeben, die sich durch Spezialisierung auf neue Papieranwendungen von anderen unterscheiden. Zum Beispiel arbeiten viele Unternehmen auch in Österreich gerade an neuartigen Beschichtungen für die Verpackung von Lebensmitteln und anderem. Das erweitert nicht nur das Spektrum der Möglichkeiten, sondern hilft auch, die In-Umlauf-Bringung von Plastik zu reduzieren. Zusätzliches Potential für die Branche liegt darin, die Papierherstellung durch neue Produkte aus der Bioraffinerie zu ergänzen. Dafür ist sie gut geeignet, weil sie große Anlagen beherrscht und viel Erfahrung darin hat, Biomasse mit Wertsteigerung zu verarbeiten. Erste Schritte in diese Richtung wurden bereits getan. Es gibt schon Unternehmen, die aus den Nebenstoffen des Holzes, aus Lignin und Hemizellulose, hochwertige Chemikalien oder Brennstoffe generieren. In den Unternehmen laufen zahlreiche Forschungsprojekte dazu.

Umwelt-Thema Nummer eins bleibt vorläufig aber der Klimaschutz und alle Maßnahmen, die dazu beitragen, weniger CO2 zu emittieren. Die Papierindustrie ist dabei gut positioniert, weil sie Produkte herstellt, die Kohlenstoff speichern und Rohstoffe einsetzt, die nachwachsend und einfach zu recyceln sind. Die Fabriken machen kontinuierlich Fortschritte in der Energieeffizienz. Die Branche hat einen sehr hohen Bioanteil in ihrer Brennstoffversorgung und eine Roadmap zur völligen Dekarbonisierung bis 2050.