Heinzel Group invests in Laakirchen

Three-digit million euro investment in the conversion of paper machine 11 is to make Papierfabrik Laakirchen one of the largest sites for recycled packaging papers in Europe.

Laakirchen, 19 October 2021. The supervisory boards of Laakirchen Papier AG and Heinzel Holding GmbH have decided on extensive investments in the sustainable further development of the Austrian Laakirchen paper mill for an environmentally friendly future. In the course of an investment programme of well over 100 million euros, paper machine 11 (PM11), which today produces supercalendered papers for magazines, catalogues and advertising prints, will be converted into a high-performance machine for lightweight corrugated base papers based on recovered paper. "Recycled packaging papers are the product of the future and completely in line with a sustainable circular economy," says Kurt Maier, CEO of the HEINZEL GROUP. "With a total of more than one million tonnes of production on two paper machines, Laakirchen will become one of the largest production sites for these products in the whole of Europe." Preparations for the rebuild and obtaining the necessary permits have already been started. On the market, the corrugated base papers produced on PM11 will be available for the first time in mid-2023. "This also means that we will withdraw completely from the publication paper market in 2023," says Franz Baldauf, CFO of Laakirchen Papier AG. "Until then, we want to reliably supply those customers who purchase SC paper from us today. This is important in the current paper shortage on the market," says Baldauf.

With its width of 8.90 metres, the PM11 will produce lightweight corrugated base paper based on recovered paper in basis weights from 70 grams per square metre. These so-called testliner and fluting products from Laakirchen are marketed under the product name "starboard" and are particularly suitable for shipping packaging, but are also used for industrial packaging as well as packaging for agricultural products or electronic devices. The full capacity of PM11 will be more than 550,000 tonnes of paper per year. The production conversion requires extensive investments at the Laakirchen site. Among other things, an additional anaerobic wastewater treatment plant will be built for the production of biogas, which will reduce the use of fossil fuels at the site.

"With this investment, the HEINZEL GROUP is further expanding its position as a producer of recycled packaging paper," says Sebastian Heinzel, shareholder of the HEINZEL GROUP. "This market is growing strongly, not least due to increasing online trade and the increasing displacement of plastic packaging. The Laakirchen paper mill has as unbeatable advantages its location in the heart of Europe and its efficient and modern machines." Laakirchen's waste paper supply will be ensured by Bunzl & Biach, the HEINZEL GROUP's waste paper trader. The papers from Laakirchen will be distributed together with the products from Raubling Papier GmbH via the group's own sales network heinzelsales.

lenzing

About Laakirchen Papier
Laakirchen Papier AG, based in Laakirchen (Upper Austria) and a member of the Heinzel Group, specialises in the production and further development of environmentally friendly publication papers and lightweight corrugated base papers based on recycled paper for the European market. Laakirchen Papier generated sales of around 230 million euros in 2020 and employs over 400 people.

Relevant articles

marketing 3740526 1280
News

Alarm call of the paper mills

Austria's paper mills are caught in a vicious circle due to the rapidly increasing global raw material and energy prices, which has already led to irritations in the printing industry. That is why the

MORE "

Gumpendorfer Strasse 6
1060 Vienna

Phone: +43 (0)1 - 588 86 - 0
Fax: +43 (0)1 - 588 86 - 222
E-mail: austropapier@austropapier.at

NEWSLETTER
REGISTRATION

THEY FOLLOW US

MEMBERS AREA

LOGIN STATISTICS INPUT

Copyright © 2021 Austropapier - Association of the Austrian Paper Industry
together with the Austrian Association of the Paper Industry

Heinzel Group investiert in Laakirchen

Dreistellige Millionen-Euro-Investition in den Umbau der Papiermaschine 11 soll Papierfabrik Laakirchen zu einem der größten Standorte für recycelte Verpackungspapiere in Europa machen.

Laakirchen, 19. Oktober 2021. Die Aufsichtsräte der Laakirchen Papier AG sowie der Heinzel Holding GmbH haben umfangreiche Investitionen in die nachhaltige Weiterentwicklung der österreichischen Papierfabrik Laakirchen für eine umweltfreundliche Zukunft beschlossen. Im Zuge eines Investitionsprogramms von deutlich mehr als 100 Mio. Euro wird die Papiermaschine 11 (PM11), die heute superkalandrierte Papiere für Magazine, Kataloge und Werbedrucke herstellt, in eine hochleistungsfähige Maschine für leichtgewichtige Wellpappenrohpapiere auf Altpapierbasis umgebaut. „Recycelte Verpackungspapiere sind das Produkt der Zukunft und ganz im Sinne einer nachhaltigen Kreislaufwirtschaft“, sagt Kurt Maier, CEO der HEINZEL GROUP. „Mit in Summe mehr als einer Million Tonnen Produktion auf zwei Papiermaschinen wird Laakirchen zu einer der größten Produktionsstätten für diese Produkte in ganz Europa werden.“ Die Vorbereitungen für den Umbau und die Einholung erforderlicher Genehmigungen wurden bereits gestartet. Am Markt werden die auf der PM11 produzierten Wellpappenrohpapiere erstmals Mitte 2023 verfügbar sein. „Das bedeutet auch, dass wir uns im Jahr 2023 ganz aus dem Markt für Publikationspapiere zurückziehen werden“, sagt Franz Baldauf, CFO der Laakirchen Papier AG. „Bis dahin wollen wir jene Kunden, die heute SC-Papier von uns beziehen, verlässlich beliefern. Das ist bei der aktuellen Papierknappheit am Markt wichtig“, so Baldauf.

Die PM11 wird mit ihrer Breite von 8,90 Metern leichtgewichtige Wellpappenrohpapiere auf Altpapierbasis in Flächengewichten ab 70 Gramm pro Quadratmeter produzieren. Diese sogenannte Testliner- und Fluting-Produkte aus Laakirchen werden unter dem Produktnamen „starboard“ vermarktet und eigenen sich insbesondere für Versandverpackungen, kommen aber auch für Industrieverpackungen sowie Verpackungen für landwirtschaftliche Produkte oder elektronische Geräte zum Einsatz. Die Kapazität der PM11 wird im Vollausbau mehr als 550.000 Jahrestonnen Papier betragen. Die Produktionsumstellung erfordert weitreichende Investitionen am Firmenstandort Laakirchen. So wird unter anderem eine weitere anaerobe Abwasserreinigung zur Produktion von Biogas errichtet, mit der der Einsatz von fossilen Brennstoffen am Standort reduziert werden kann.

„Mit dieser Investition baut die HEINZEL GROUP ihre Position als Produzent von recycelten Verpackungspapieren weiter aus“, sagt Sebastian Heinzel, Aktionär der HEINZEL GROUP. „Dieser Markt wächst stark, nicht zuletzt aufgrund des steigenden Online-Handels und der zunehmenden Verdrängung von Plastikverpackungen. Die Papierfabrik Laakirchen hat als unschlagbare Vorteile ihre Lage im Herzen Europas und ihre effizienten und modernen Maschinen.“ Die Altpapierversorgung Laakirchens wird über Bunzl & Biach, den Altpapierhändler der HEINZEL GROUP, sichergestellt werden. Der Vertrieb der Papiere aus Laakirchen erfolgt gemeinsam mit den Produkten der Raubling Papier GmbH über das gruppeneigene Vertriebsnetzwerk heinzelsales.

lenzing

Über Laakirchen Papier
Die Laakirchen Papier AG mit Sitz in Laakirchen (Oberösterreich), Mitglied der Heinzel Group, hat sich auf die Produktion und Weiterentwicklung von umweltfreundlichen Publikationspapieren sowie leichtgewichtigen Wellpappenrohpapieren auf Basis von Recyclingpapier für den europäischen Markt spezialisiert. Laakirchen Papier erwirtschaftete 2020 einen Umsatz von rund 230 Mio. Euro und beschäftigt über 400 Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeiter.

Relevante Artikel

marketing 3740526 1280
Aktuelles

Alarmruf der Papierfabriken

Österreichs Papierfabriken geraten durch die global rasant wachsenden Rohstoff- und Energiepreise in einen Teufelskreis, der schon zu Irritationen der Druckereibranche geführt hat. Deshalb unterstreicht die

MEHR »

Gumpendorfer Straße 6
1060 Wien

Telefon:  +43 (0)1 – 588 86 – 0
Fax:         +43 (0)1 – 588 86 – 222
E-Mail:    austropapier@austropapier.at

NEWSLETTER
ANMELDUNG

FOLGEN SIE UNS AUF

MITGLIEDER-BEREICH

LOGIN STATISTIK-EINGABE

Copyright © 2021 Austropapier – Vereinigung der Österreichischen Papierindustrie
gemeinsam mit dem Fachverband der Papierindustrie