Study: ClimAresilience

How resilient and climate-friendly domestic value creation can succeed.

 

 

After the successful studies climAconsum (2017) and climApro (2019), the next follow-up study climAresilience has now been published. For over a year, the authors of the Institute for Industrial Ecology (IIÖ) and the Institute of Industrial Sciences (IWI) investigated how the resilience of domestic production chains can be strengthened against the backdrop of international distortions caused by Covid-19 and the climate and environmental policy challenges in Europe.

The Covid 19 crisis and the stricter EU climate targets are leading to major upheavals in the economy and posing immense challenges for the entire industry. The transformation towards a CO2-neutral economy entails both opportunities and risks for the individual sectors. But the changes do not only affect the companies, but also their employees and the state through changes in fiscal and social contributions. There are also effects on the value added of upstream and downstream sectors. The recently published study "climAresilienz", prepared by the Institute for Industrial Ecology (IIÖ) and the Institute of Industrial Sciences (IWI), therefore examines the adaptability and innovative strength of domestic industry under changing conditions such as: additional climate protection measures, change to a bioeconomy or additional digitalisation. In the paper industry, the production chains "graphic papers" and "packaging papers" were tested for their resilience in various scenarios.

climaresilience

The paper industry is feeling the changes, especially due to the increasing pressure on its most important raw material, wood. On the one hand, there are more and more calls for forest areas to be put out of use in order to preserve biodiversity or as a CO2 reservoir. On the other hand, the demand for wood as a renewable raw material, as a basis for bio-based products and renewable energy is increasing.

In principle, both the wood and the paper industry can benefit from a transformation towards the bioeconomy. This form of economy offers many bio-based alternatives to fossil products and processes, from packaging to building materials, to feedstocks for the chemical industry or food industry. It uses all components of the raw material wood and can rely on a well-functioning recycling system. According to a German study, waste paper fibres, i.e. wood fibres that have already been processed once into paper, can be recycled up to 25 times.

However, if the shift towards a bioeconomy leads to an uncontrolled demand for wood, this can lead to production bottlenecks. In the area of renewable energy, this can consequently lead to a resort to fossil energy sources, or in the case of packaging, to fossil-based variants. Lack of cascading use of wood and market distortions due to one-sided subsidies, lead to exacerbated market distortions and further increase the pressure on wood as a raw material. Ensuring the availability of raw materials for bio-based production chains is therefore a top priority. The study authors therefore recommend measures in the area of wood mobilisation and sustainable forest management. The targeted use of certain product ranges and the longest possible recycling of biogenic raw materials will ultimately further secure the supply.

The study ties in thematically with the previous studies. In addition to location policy recommendations, it also contains calculations on how future scenarios (accelerated climate policy, increased bioeconomy, digitalisation, crises, ...) will affect domestic value creation, fiscal revenues, employment and CO2 emissions. This should also create more awareness among the public and politicians that we are all affected by resilience effects in industry. 

Further inquiries

Julia Löwenstein
Austropapier Public Relations
Tel: +43 650 6201079
Mail: julia.loewenstein@austropapier.at

Relevant articles

marketing 3740526 1280
News

Alarm call of the paper mills

Austria's paper mills are caught in a vicious circle due to the rapidly increasing global raw material and energy prices, which has already led to irritations in the printing industry. That is why the

MORE "

Gumpendorfer Strasse 6
1060 Vienna

Phone: +43 (0)1 - 588 86 - 0
Fax: +43 (0)1 - 588 86 - 222
E-mail: austropapier@austropapier.at

NEWSLETTER
REGISTRATION

THEY FOLLOW US

MEMBERS AREA

LOGIN STATISTICS INPUT

Copyright © 2021 Austropapier - Association of the Austrian Paper Industry
together with the Austrian Association of the Paper Industry

Studie: ClimAresilienz

Wie eine widerstandsfähige und klimaverträgliche heimische Wertschöpfung gelingen kann.

 

 

Nach den erfolgreichen Studien climAconsum (2017) und climApro (2019) wurde nun die nächste Folgestudie climAresilienz veröffentlicht. Über ein Jahr lang untersuchten die Autoren des Instituts für industrielle Ökologie (IIÖ) und des Industriewissenschaftlichen Instituts (IWI) vor dem Hintergrund internationaler Verwerfungen durch Covid-19 und der klima- und umweltpolitischen Herausforderungen in Europa, wie die Resilienz heimischer Produktionsketten gestärkt werden kann.

Denn die Covid-19 Krise aber auch die verschärften EU-Klimaziele führen zu großen Umbrüchen in der Wirtschaft und stellen die gesamte Industrie vor immense Herausforderungen. Die Transformation hin zu einer CO2 neutralen Wirtschaft bringt dabei sowohl Chancen als auch Risken für die einzelnen Sektoren mit sich. Aber die Veränderungen wirken sich nicht nur auf die Unternehmen, sondern auch auf deren Beschäftigte und den Staat durch die Änderung von Fiskal- und Sozialbeiträgen aus. Auch gibt es Effekte auf die Wertschöpfung vor- und nachgelagerter Branchen. Die kürzlich veröffentlichte Studie „climAresilienz“, erarbeitetvom Institut für industrielle Ökologie (IIÖ) und dem Industriewissenschaftlichen Institut (IWI) untersucht deshalb die Anpassungsfähigkeit und Innovationskraft der heimischen Industrie unter sich ändernden Bedingungen wie: zusätzlichen Klimaschutzmaßnahmen, Wandel zur Bioökonomie oder zusätzlicher Digitalisierung.  In der Papierindustrie wurden in diversen Szenarien die Produktionsketten „grafische Papiere“ und „Verpackungspapiere“ auf ihre Widerstandsfähigkeit hin überprüft.

climaresilienz

Die Papierindustrie spürt die Veränderungen insbesondere durch den steigenden Druck auf ihren wichtigsten RohstoffHolz. Einerseits wird immer öfter die Außernutzungsstellung von Waldflächen zum Erhalt der Biodiversität oder als CO2- Speicher gefordert. Andererseits steigt aber die Nachfrage nach Holz als nachwachsender Rohstoff, als Grundlagefür biobasierte Produkte und erneuerbare Energie.

Grundsätzlich kann sowohl die Holz- als auch die Papierindustrie von einer Transformation in Richtung Bioökonomie profitieren. Diese Form der Ökonomie bietet viele biobasierte Alternativen zu fossilen Produkten und Prozessen, von Verpackungen über Baustoffe, hin zu Ausgangsstoffen für die chemische Industrie oder Nahrungsmittelindustrie. Sie nutzt alle Bestandteile des Rohstoffs Holz und kann auf ein gut funktionierendes Recyclingsystem zurückgreifen. Laut einer deutschen Studie können Altpapierfasern, also Holzfasern, die bereits einmal zu Papier verarbeitet wurden, bis zu 25x im Kreis geführt werden.

Führt der Wandel hin zur Bioökonomie aber zu einer unkontrollierten Nachfrage nach Holz, kann dies zu Produktionsengpässen führen. Im Bereich der erneuerbaren Energie kann das folglich zu einem Rückgreifen auf fossile Energieträger,oder bei Verpackungen auf fossilbasierte Varianten führen. Fehlende kaskdadische Nutzung von Holz und Marktverzerrungen durch einseitige Subventionen, führen zu verschärften Marktverzerrungen und erhöhen den Druck auf den Rohstoff Holz weiter. Die Sicherstellung der Rohstoffverfügbarkeit für biobasierte Produktionsketten hat deshalb oberste Priorität. Empfohlen werden hier seitens der Studienautoren daher Maßnahmen im Bereich der Holzmobilisierung und nachhaltigen Waldbewirtschaftung. Auch die zielgerichtete Verwendung von bestimmten Sortimenten sowie eine möglichst lange Kreislaufführung von biogenen Rohstoffen, sichern die Versorgung letztendlich weiter ab.

Die Studie knüpft thematisch an den vorangehende Studien an. Sie enthält neben standortpolitischen Empfehlungen auch Berechnungen, wie sich künftige Szenarien (forcierte Klimapolitik, verstärkte Bioökonomie, Digitalisierung, Krisenfälle, …) auf die heimische Wertschöpfung, die Fiskaleinnahmen, auf Beschäftigungsverhältnisse und die CO2-Emissionen auswirken. Damit soll in Öffentlichkeit und Politik auch mehr Bewusstsein geschaffen werden, dass wir alle von Resilienz-Effekten in der Industrie betroffen sind. 

Rückfragen

Julia Löwenstein
Austropapier Öffentlichkeitsarbeit
Tel: +43 650 6201079
Mail: julia.loewenstein@austropapier.at

Relevante Artikel

marketing 3740526 1280
Aktuelles

Alarmruf der Papierfabriken

Österreichs Papierfabriken geraten durch die global rasant wachsenden Rohstoff- und Energiepreise in einen Teufelskreis, der schon zu Irritationen der Druckereibranche geführt hat. Deshalb unterstreicht die

MEHR »

Gumpendorfer Straße 6
1060 Wien

Telefon:  +43 (0)1 – 588 86 – 0
Fax:         +43 (0)1 – 588 86 – 222
E-Mail:    austropapier@austropapier.at

NEWSLETTER
ANMELDUNG

FOLGEN SIE UNS AUF

MITGLIEDER-BEREICH

LOGIN STATISTIK-EINGABE

Copyright © 2021 Austropapier – Vereinigung der Österreichischen Papierindustrie
gemeinsam mit dem Fachverband der Papierindustrie