Lenzing builds PV plant on landfill site

The Lenzing Group is planning the largest open-space photovoltaic plant in Upper Austria on an area of around 55,000 m². The groundbreaking ceremony is scheduled for summer 2021. After the expected commissioning in the second half of 2021, the plant's output will amount to 5.5 MWpeak. The plant's approximately 16,000 modules will generate just under 5,500 megawatt hours per year. This corresponds to the average annual electricity demand of more than 1,700 households and is unique in Upper Austria on this scale.

The photovoltaic plant is an important symbolic milestone for Lenzing on its way to becoming aCO2 neutral industrial site. The project is part of a global energy concept with which Lenzing, in addition to consistent energy savings, is focusing on the provision of electricity from 100 percent renewable sources in order to reduceCO2 intensity by 50 percent as early as 2030 and to be globally climate neutral by 2050.

"The great challenges of our time need answers. As a leader in innovation and sustainability, we are proactively contributing to the achievement of climate targets and setting new standards for our industry," explains Stefan Doboczky, CEO of the Lenzing Group. "In addition to ongoing major investments inCO2 neutral sites such as Thailand and Brazil, it is innovative projects like these at existing industrial sites that bring us one step closer to group-wide climate neutrality."

Further inquiries

Daniel Winkelmeier
Vice President Corporate Communications a.i.
Tel: +43 676 75 79 843
Mail: presse@lenzing.com

Relevant articles

Gumpendorfer Strasse 6
1060 Vienna

Phone: +43 (0)1 - 588 86 - 0
Fax: +43 (0)1 - 588 86 - 222
E-mail: austropapier@austropapier.at

NEWSLETTER
REGISTRATION

THEY FOLLOW US

MEMBERS AREA

LOGIN STATISTICS INPUT

Copyright © 2021 Austropapier - Association of the Austrian Paper Industry
together with the Austrian Association of the Paper Industry

Lenzing errichtet PV-Anlage auf Deponiegelände

Die Lenzing Gruppe plant auf einer Fläche von rund 55.000 m² die größte Photovoltaik-Freiflächenanlage Oberösterreichs. Der Spatenstich soll bereits im Sommer 2021 erfolgen. Nach der voraussichtlichen Inbetriebnahme im zweiten Halbjahr 2021 wird sich die Leistung der Anlage auf 5,5 MWpeak belaufen. Die rund 16.000 Module der Anlage werden knapp 5.500 Megawattstunden pro Jahr erzeugen. Dies entspricht dem durchschnittlichen Jahresstrombedarf von mehr als 1.700 Haushalten und ist in diesem Umfang einzigartig in Oberösterreich.

Die Photovoltaik-Anlage ist für Lenzing ein wichtiger symbolischer Meilenstein auf dem Weg zum CO2 neutralen Industriestandort. Das Projekt ist Teil eines globalen Energiekonzeptes, mit dem Lenzing neben konsequenten Energieeinsparungen auf die Bereitstellung von Strom aus 100 Prozent erneuerbaren Quellen setzt, um bereits im Jahr 2030 die CO2 Intensität um 50 Prozent zu reduzieren und im Jahr 2050 global klimaneutral zu sein.

„Die großen Herausforderungen unserer Zeit brauchen Antworten. Als führendes Unternehmen im Bereich Innovation und Nachhaltigkeit tragen wir proaktiv zum Erreichen der Klimaziele bei und setzen neue Maßstäbe für unsere Industrie“, erklärt Stefan Doboczky, Vorstandsvorsitzender der Lenzing Gruppe. „Neben den laufenden Großinvestitionen in CO2 neutrale Standorte wie Thailand und Brasilien sind es solche innovativen Projekte an bestehenden Industriestandorten, die uns wieder einen Schritt näher zur konzernweiten Klimaneutralität führen.“

Rückfragen

Daniel Winkelmeier
Vice President Corporate Communications a.i.
Tel: +43 676 75 79 843
Mail: presse@lenzing.com

Relevante Artikel

shutterstock 633562835
Aktuelles

Webinar: Was folgt auf die Plastik-Ära?

Die Papierindustrie bietet bereits eine Vielzahl an Alternativen zu Einweg-Plastikprodukten. Im Bereich der Verpackungen gibt es noch großes Potential. Im Rahmen eines Webinars wollen wir diskutieren, wie die Verpackung der Zukunft aussehen könnte.

MEHR »

Gumpendorfer Straße 6
1060 Wien

Telefon:  +43 (0)1 – 588 86 – 0
Fax:         +43 (0)1 – 588 86 – 222
E-Mail:    austropapier@austropapier.at

NEWSLETTER
ANMELDUNG

FOLGEN SIE UNS AUF

MITGLIEDER-BEREICH

LOGIN STATISTIK-EINGABE

Copyright © 2021 Austropapier – Vereinigung der Österreichischen Papierindustrie
gemeinsam mit dem Fachverband der Papierindustrie