Nettingsdorf supplies environmentally friendly district heating

A showcase project in terms of environmental protection and energy efficiency.

Less than a year after commissioning the new energy plants, Smurfit Kappa Nettingsdorf already has the next major project in the starting blocks. In cooperation with the Bioenergie Group, the leading corrugated base paper producer is building a plant at the Nettingsdorf site to generate environmentally friendly district heating from up to 25 megawatts of waste heat. Completion is planned for autumn 2022.

Sustainability in every (paper) fibre - this is the goal that Smurfit Kappa Nettingsdorf has been pursuing for many years with commitment and imagination. In cooperation with the Bioenergie Group and the municipality of Ansfelden, the company is building a plant to generate environmentally friendly district heating from waste heat by September 2022. Up to 25 megawatts of waste heat can be utilised in the process.

Smurfit Kappa Nettingsdorf's latest project is another milestone in the leading corrugated base paper producer's efforts to strengthen sustainability in production. In the production of the product Kraftliner - a packaging paper that in and of itself already internalises sustainability because it is made from renewable raw materials and is practically 100% recyclable - the company has been concerned for some time with making the manufacturing process as sustainable as possible.

Efforts began with measures that led to a significant reduction in the energy consumed in production - mainly electricity and heat (in the form of steam). After that, all energy generation at the site was made as efficient and environmentally friendly as possible. The Future Energy project with the construction of a highly efficient lye combustion boiler, where energy is generated from waste lye and from the wood components that cannot be used for paper fibres - i.e. biomass - is the lighthouse project in this area. Both lead to a strong reduction in the use of fossil fuels at the Nettingsdorf site. CO2 emissions per tonne of paper produced have been reduced to about 1/10 since 1990 - the beginning of international efforts to reduce CO2 emissions.

"The current project, which we are implementing together with the Bioenergie Group, is another important step towards promoting sustainability. We are making waste heat that could not be used in our production process, or only very poorly, available for the operation of a district heating network, thereby enabling massive CO2 savings effects for the heat consumers," Günter Hochrathner, CEO of Smurfit Kappa Nettingsdorf, explains the current construction project. This also significantly reduces the discharge of heat into the environment via exhaust steam and cooling water, which in turn supports Smurfit Kappa Nettingsdorf's decades-long efforts to reduce the pollution of air and water to a minimum.

The implementation period for the Nettingsdorf district heating project is very ambitious at 18 months. However, a quick implementation of the project is in the interest of all parties involved, because the funding pots for investments in sustainable energy supply are currently well filled. After all, Austria has set itself sustainable climate targets until 2030, and the federal government even wants to achieve climate neutrality by 2040. Waste heat projects like the one in Ansfelden are an important pillar of this strategy.

Further inquiries

Gisela Ploch REICHLUNDPARTNER PR
Mobile: +43 664 8510230
E-mail: gisela.ploch@reichlundpartner.com

Relevant articles

sigrid eckhardt martin zahlbruckner handshake c austro paper
Climate protection

Change at the top of the paper industry

Since mid-May, the Association of the Austrian Paper Industry has a new Managing Director in Sigrid Eckhardt, and Martin Zahlbruckner succeeds Kurt Maier as President of Austropapier.

MORE "

Nettingsdorf liefert umweltfreundliche Fernwärme

Ein Vorzeigeprojekt hinsichtlich Umweltschutz und Energieeffizienz.

Nur knapp ein Jahr nach Inbetriebnahme der neuen Energieanlagen steht bei Smurfit Kappa Nettingsdorf bereits das nächste Großprojekt in den Startlöchern. In Kooperation mit der Bioenergie Gruppe errichtet der führende Wellpapperohpapierproduzent am Standort Nettingsdorf eine Anlage zur Gewinnung umweltfreundlicher Fernwärme aus bis zu 25 MegaWatt Abwärme. Die Fertigstellung ist für Herbst 2022 geplant.

Nachhaltigkeit in jeder (Papier)Faser – das ist das Ziel, das Smurfit Kappa Nettingsdorf bereits seit vielen Jahren mit Engagement und Ideenreichtum verfolgt. In Zusammenarbeit mit der Bioenergie Gruppe und der Stadtgemeinde Ansfelden errichtet das Unternehmen bis September 2022 eine Anlage zur Gewinnung umweltfreundlicher Fernwärme aus Abwärme. Bis zu 25 MegaWatt Abwärme können dabei nutzbar gemacht werden.

Das jüngste Projekt von Smurfit Kappa Nettingsdorf ist ein weiterer Meilenstein in den Bemühungen des führenden Wellpapperohpapierproduzenten Nachhaltigkeit in der Produktion zu stärken. Bei der Erzeugung des Produktes Kraftliner – ein Verpackungspapier, das an und für sich bereits Nachhaltigkeit verinnerlicht, weil aus nachwachsenden Rohstoffen hergestellt und praktisch zu 100 % wiederverwertbar – hat sich das Unternehmen schon seit geraumer Zeit damit beschäftigt, den Herstellungsprozess möglichst nachhaltig zu gestalten.

Am Beginn der Bemühungen standen Maßnahmen, die zu einer deutlichen Reduktion der in der Produktion verbrauchten Energie – hauptsächlich Strom und Wärme (in Form von Dampf) – geführt haben. Danach wurde die gesamte Energieerzeugung am Standort möglichst effizient und umweltschonend gestaltet. Das Future Energie Projekt mit der Errichtung eines hocheffizienten Laugenverbrennungskessel, wo aus Ablauge und aus den für die Papierfaser nicht verwendbaren Holzbestandteilen – also Biomasse – Energie erzeugt wird, ist dabei das Leuchtturmprojekt in diesem Bereich. Beides führt zu einer starken Reduktion des Einsatzes an fossilen Brennstoffen am Standort Nettingsdorf. Der CO2 Ausstoß pro Tonne produziertem Papier konnte seit 1990 – dem Beginn der internationalen Bemühungen den CO2 Ausstoß zu senken – auf etwa 1/10 reduziert werden.

Das aktuelle Projekt, das wir gemeinsam mit der Bioenergie Gruppe umsetzen, ist ein weiterer wichtiger Schritt zur Forcierung der Nachhaltigkeitsthematik. Wir stellen Abwärme, die in unserem Produktionsprozess nicht bzw. nur sehr schlecht verwertbar wäre, für den Betrieb eines Fernwärmenetzes zur Verfügung und ermöglichen dadurch massive CO2 Einsparungseffekte bei den Abnehmern der Wärme”, erklärt Günter Hochrathner, CEO Smurfit Kappa Nettingsdorf, das aktuelle Bauvorhaben. Damit wird auch die Ableitung von Wärme an die Umwelt über Abdampf und Kühlwasser erheblich reduziert, was wiederum die Jahrzehnte langen Bestrebungen von Smurfit Kappa Nettingsdorf, die Belastung von Luft und Wasser auf ein Minimum zu reduzieren, unterstützt.

Die Umsetzungsdauer für das Fernwärmeprojekt Nettingsdorf ist mit 18 Monaten sehr ambitioniert. Eine rasche Projektumsetzung liegt aber im Interesse aller Beteiligter, denn die Fördertöpfe für Investitionen in nachhaltige Energieversorgung sind derzeit gut gefüllt. Immerhin hat sich Österreich bis 2030 nachhaltige Klimaziele gesetzt, bis 2040 will man seitens des Bundes gar die Klimaneutralität erreichen. Abwärmeprojekte wie in Ansfelden sind dabei ein wesentliches Standbein dieser Strategie.

Rückfragen

Gisela Ploch REICHLUNDPARTNER PR
Mobil: +43 664 8510230
E-Mail: gisela.ploch@reichlundpartner.com

Relevante Artikel

Gumpendorfer Straße 6
1060 Wien

Telefon:  +43 (0)1 – 588 86 – 0
Fax:         +43 (0)1 – 588 86 – 222
E-Mail:    austropapier@austropapier.at

NEWSLETTER
ANMELDUNG

FOLGEN SIE UNS AUF

MITGLIEDER-BEREICH

LOGIN STATISTIK-EINGABE

Copyright © 2021 Austropapier – Vereinigung der Österreichischen Papierindustrie
gemeinsam mit dem Fachverband der Papierindustrie