Young researcher seeks biological alternatives to plastic

TU Graz researcher Samir Kopacic would like to contribute to the fact that in future less plastic and more biodegradable materials will be used. And is developing his own paper-based packaging.

"We currently have nearly 8 billion people on our planet. If we continue to consume as much plastic as we do at present, we will have more and more non-biodegradable plastic waste in our environment and increasingCO2 levels in the atmosphere in the coming years," says Samir Kopacic in drastic words, explaining why he has chosen a career in green technology with a focus on process and material development. The 31-year-old researches at the Institute of Biobased Products and Paper Technology how more biobased materials and less plastics can be used in the field of food packaging. "A classic example for me is muesli packaging," he describes. "They consist of a cardboard box and inside is a plastic bag." The bag, made of synthetic film, is used as a functional gas barrier, for example to keep the muesli flakes crispy and preserve the aroma. As an alternative, the carton could also be coated with a biobased film or foil that would have the same effect, said Kopacic. However, in Austria, approximately 50 per cent of the country's land area is covered with forest - i.e. rich in sustainable and renewable biomass from which valuable biopolymers can be produced," said Kopacic explaining the economic as well as technological aspects behind his work.

Samir Kopacic

The young researcher is working on different multi-functional biopolymers that can be applied to paper or even completely replace plastic. "Most European countries are not oil producers, but in Austria, approximately 50 percent of the land area is covered with forest - thus rich in sustainable and renewable biomass from which valuable biopolymers can be obtained," said the young researcher explaining the economic as well as technological aspects behind his work.

Heinzel-Mondi-Sappi Award for young researchers

Samir Kopacic was born in Gracanica, a small town in the northeastern part of Bosnia and Herzegovina. He attended the international English-speaking secondary school and then studied Technical Chemistry and Process Engineering at Graz University of Technology. "Together with project partners from industry and academia, I do a lot of applied research and am currently involved in an invention that is to be patented. Some of the results could be developed into products in the next few years".

 

Samir Kopacic

In October 2020, the young researcher received the Heinzel-Mondi-Sappi Award from the Austrian paper industry for his research activities. Kopacic himself is in any case firmly convinced "that we in Europe need a change of course with regard to plastics consumption and that we must focus on biomaterials in the future.

Further inquiries
Dipl.-Ing. Dr. techn. BSc Samir KOPACIC
Institute for Biobased Products and Paper Technology
samir.kopacic@tugraz.at
+43 316 873 30788

Relevant articles

sigrid eckhardt martin zahlbruckner handshake c austro paper
Climate protection

Change at the top of the paper industry

Since mid-May, the Association of the Austrian Paper Industry has a new Managing Director in Sigrid Eckhardt, and Martin Zahlbruckner succeeds Kurt Maier as President of Austropapier.

MORE "

Jungforscher sucht nach biologischen Alternativen zu Plastik

TU Graz-Forscher Samir Kopacic möchte dazu beitragen, dass in Zukunft weniger Plastik und mehr biologisch abbaubare Materialien verwendet werden. Und entwickelt eigene, papierbasierte Verpackungen.

„Wir haben derzeit knapp 8 Milliarden Menschen auf unserer Erde. Wenn wir weiterhin so viel Plastik konsumieren, wie wir es derzeit tun, dann haben wir in den kommenden Jahren immer mehr biologisch nicht abbaubare Plastikabfälle in unserer Umwelt und steigende CO2-Werte in der Atmosphäre“, erklärt Samir Kopacic mit drastischen Worten, warum er sich für eine Laufbahn im Bereich Green Technology mit Fokus auf Prozess- und Materialentwicklung entschieden hat. Der 31-Jährige forscht am Institut für Biobasierte Produkte und Papiertechnik daran, wie im Bereich der Lebensmittelverpackungen mehr biobasierte Materialien und weniger Kunststoffe eingesetzt werden können. „Klassisches Beispiel sind für mich die Müsli-Verpackungen“, beschreibt er. „Sie bestehen aus einem Karton und innen drin ist ein Plastiksackerl.“ Das aus synthetischen Folien erzeugte Sackerl werde als funktionelle Gasbarriere gebraucht, um beispielsweise die Müsliflocken knusprig zu halten und das Aroma zu bewahren. Als Alternative könnte der Karton aber auch mit einem biobasierten Film oder einer Folie beschichtet werden, die denselben Effekt hätten, so Kopacic.jedoch in Österreich ca. 50 Prozent der Bodenfläche mit Wald bedeckt – also reich an nachhaltiger und erneuerbarer Biomasse, aus der wertvolle Biopolymere gewonnen werden können“, erklärt er den wirtschaftlichen sowie technologischen Aspekt hinter seiner Arbeit.

Samir Kopacic

Der junge Forscher arbeitet an unterschiedlichen multi-funktionellen Biopolymeren, die auf Papier aufgetragen werden oder Plastik gar vollständig ersetzen könnten „Die meisten europäischen Länder sind keine Erdölproduzenten, dafür sind jedoch in Österreich ca. 50 Prozent der Bodenfläche mit Wald bedeckt – also reich an nachhaltiger und erneuerbarer Biomasse, aus der wertvolle Biopolymere gewonnen werden können“, erklärt er den wirtschaftlichen sowie technologischen Aspekt hinter seiner Arbeit.

Heinzel-Mondi-Sappi Award für Jungforscher

Samir Kopacic wurde in Gracanica, einer kleinen Stadt im nordöstlichen Teil von Bosnien und Herzegowina, geboren, besuchte die internationale englischsprachige Mittelschule und studierte anschließend Technische Chemie und Verfahrenstechnik an der TU Graz. „Zusammen mit Projektpartnern aus der Industrie und dem akademischem Bereich mache ich sehr viel angewandte Forschung und bin gerade auch an einer Erfindung beteiligt, die patentiert werden soll. Einige Ergebnisse könnten in den nächsten Jahren zu Produkten weiterentwickelt werden.“

 

Samir Kopacic

Im Oktober 2020 wurde der Jungforscher für seine Forschungstätigkeit von der österreichischen Papierindustrie mit dem Heinzel-Mondi-Sappi Award ausgezeichnet. Kopacic selbst ist jedenfalls felsenfest davon überzeugt, „dass wir in Europa eine Kursänderung bezüglich des Plastikkonsums brauchen und in Zukunft auf Biomaterialien setzen müssen.“

Rückfragen
Dipl.-Ing. Dr. techn. BSc Samir KOPACIC
Institut für Biobasierte Produkte und Papiertechnik
samir.kopacic@tugraz.at
+43 316 873 30788

Relevante Artikel

home office pexels ekaterina bolovtsova
Sozialpolitik

Home-Office Gesetz beschlossen

Gerade in diesen Zeiten ist das Thema Homeoffice sehr in den Vordergrund gerückt und hat für die Arbeitswelt enorm an Bedeutung gewonnen. Nun wurde ein Home-Office-Gesetz beschlossen.

MEHR »

Gumpendorfer Straße 6
1060 Wien

Telefon:  +43 (0)1 – 588 86 – 0
Fax:         +43 (0)1 – 588 86 – 222
E-Mail:    austropapier@austropapier.at

NEWSLETTER
ANMELDUNG

FOLGEN SIE UNS AUF

MITGLIEDER-BEREICH

LOGIN STATISTIK-EINGABE

Copyright © 2021 Austropapier – Vereinigung der Österreichischen Papierindustrie
gemeinsam mit dem Fachverband der Papierindustrie